Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    UK Support

    This is a discussion on UK Support within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just spent a frustating and ultimately pointless 40min on the phone to the overseas call centre - is there a ...

    1. #1
      montheponies's Avatar
      montheponies is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      UK Support

      Just spent a frustating and ultimately pointless 40min on the phone to the overseas call centre - is there a particular time/day that usually gets you through to the uk tier 1/cst?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: UK Support

      montheponies
      Hi do you have an issue that someone on SkyUser can help.
      is there a particular time/day that usually gets you through to the uk tier 1/cst?
      Some say about 10pm others say after lunch time about 2pm. Sorry I could not give more information
      Last edited by steve16751; 05-03-10 at 02:06 AM.

    4. #3
      rhonddapaul's Avatar
      rhonddapaul is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01443
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      South Wales Valleys, UK
      Posts
      77
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: UK Support

      I think it can sometimes depend on what you are calling about, also. I went overseas when phoning to query a bill a few weeks back. When I asked to speak to a manager to complain, I was transferred to Glasgow

    5. #4
      pugwash's Avatar
      pugwash is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sedgley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Location
      Dudley
      Posts
      107
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: UK Support

      to be frank im shocked that a UK company would have over seas company who in fact dont really know that much, i sometimes struggle to get transferred to an english man without sounding racist i simple cannot understand them.
      i normaly ring about 4PM always get a Scottish bloke then they are surprisingly helpful

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: UK Support

      UK support is on the phone all day, it's just luck of the draw...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      montheponies's Avatar
      montheponies is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: UK Support

      I was phoning to get my line changed from adsl to adsl2+ and unfortunately got caught in a 'slow speed problem' script where the girl was asking me to connect to the test socket - I explained that it wasn't a speed problem only to be told that my 'speed problem' had nothing to do with adsl2+ ... anyway moved the router to the test socket today and phoned back and the lad in the call centre blasted through it in 5min - now happily connected at 13mb d/s

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: UK Support

      that's just it - if you do what's asked of you then they can follow their script and get you sorted quicker...wish people would realise there's no short cuts in life
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: UK Support

      anyway moved the router to the test socket today and phoned back and the lad in the call centre blasted through it in 5min - now happily connected at 13mb d/s
      If your line was capped before there is a good chance this was due to problems with your internal wiring, plugging into the Test socket isolates these. Be aware that returning the router to a faceplate will probably result in your speed dropping back.

      Your last post indicated that it was throughput that was the problem. Have you resolved this?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      montheponies's Avatar
      montheponies is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: UK Support

      If your line was capped before there is a good chance this was due to problems with your internal wiring, plugging into the Test socket isolates these. Be aware that returning the router to a faceplate will probably result in your speed dropping back.

      Your last post indicated that it was throughput that was the problem. Have you resolved this?
      aye, it was my fault - uk support had checked earlier in the week and confirmed i was receiving a ton of errors, even on adsl. one of my filters (ironically the one connected to my sky+ hd box) was giving me problems when i was trying to book a movie (this was a good while back)...anyway I'd taken it off to make the booking and forgot to put it back on , put a new one on it and noise margin jumped from 11db d/s to 17d/b.

      i'd already checked this myself at the test socket and extension, before phoning the overseas call centre - hence why i was confident in the line and frustrated more by the poor level of communication. now with 13mb i've got a noise margin of 9db on the extension, with negligible difference between it and the master socket. lad confirmed no errors. throughput is consistently high, really only limited by end servers.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION