Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Slow Internet

    This is a discussion on Slow Internet within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I know you have many threads on here about slow internet and I have read them but they aren't helping ...

    1. #1
      NDHolyoak's Avatar
      NDHolyoak is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Slow Internet

      I know you have many threads on here about slow internet and I have read them but they aren't helping me.
      Sky believe my line can handle up to 5mb but im getting now where near that here are my stats.

      Normal LAN Router plugged in to ADSL filter which is plugged into a normal phone socket not master.
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 380 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47.5 db 26.2 db
      Noise Margin 4.2 db 18.0 db

      Wireless with router plugged into Master Phone sockets 'Test' thingy.
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 380 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47.0 db 26.2 db
      Noise Margin 7.8 db 17.5 db

      Ethernet Cable with router plugged into Master Phone sockets 'Test' thingy.
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 378 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47.0 db 26.2 db
      Noise Margin 8.4 db 18 db

      Any advice?
      Plus all my phones have ADSL filters.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow Internet

      How long have you been with Sky broadband?

      Your line should be able to get 4-6Mb, but it looks like your main line has a fault. But first, when you are plugged into the Test socket are all your extensions dead? Are you plugging the router in using only the cables and filter supplied by Sky, no plug in extension?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      NDHolyoak's Avatar
      NDHolyoak is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Internet

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      How long have you been with Sky broadband?

      Your line should be able to get 4-6Mb, but it looks like your main line has a fault. But first, when you are plugged into the Test socket are all your extensions dead? Are you plugging the router in using only the cables and filter supplied by Sky, no plug in extension?
      I'm using all the cables and filters from skys and when you say are all your extensions dead what do you mean?

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow Internet

      When you plug a phone into your extensions they should be dead, with no dial tone.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      NDHolyoak's Avatar
      NDHolyoak is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Internet

      Yeah they're dead.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow Internet

      Is your voice line OK. Plug in a corded phone to the Test socket dial 1 digit and listen. You should hear nothing except a very faint hiss.

      How long have you been connected?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      NDHolyoak's Avatar
      NDHolyoak is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Internet

      Connected as in how long it was in master socket? and when i use the phone its like you said but one of the phones on one of the extension sockets crackles.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow Internet

      I meant how long with Sky broadband.

      It looks like you have either a bad fault on your line or in the exchange equipment, or your router is faulty. You are getting some interference from the internal wiring, but not enough to lower your speed so much.

      All you can do is phone Sky, be plugged into the Test socket and have another filter standing by ready to change. This will save some time with tier 1. If they can't fix it ask them to put you through to the Customer Solutions Team, they may send you another router or escalate a complaint to BT. If they will not put you through ask for a manager and tell him/her your are not at all satisfied with the service you are receiving and want some action to be taken.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      NDHolyoak's Avatar
      NDHolyoak is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Internet

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I meant how long with Sky broadband.

      It looks like you have either a bad fault on your line or in the exchange equipment, or your router is faulty. You are getting some interference from the internal wiring, but not enough to lower your speed so much.

      All you can do is phone Sky, be plugged into the Test socket and have another filter standing by ready to change. This will save some time with tier 1. If they can't fix it ask them to put you through to the Customer Solutions Team, they may send you another router or escalate a complaint to BT. If they will not put you through ask for a manager and tell him/her your are not at all satisfied with the service you are receiving and want some action to be taken.
      Thanks for your help I'll get onto it ASAP. The last time I talked to SKY it was a hillarious chinese woman.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow Internet

      The last time I talked to SKY it was a hillarious chinese woman.
      Philippino probably, as that is where the call centre is.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION