Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 26

    Connected but can't download

    This is a discussion on Connected but can't download within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; This one is causing me much frustration and tier 1 were beyond useless last night . . . Up to ...

    1. #1
      bl!p's Avatar
      bl!p is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Peters
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Location
      Worcester, UK
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Connected but can't download

      This one is causing me much frustration and tier 1 were beyond useless last night . . .

      Up to the 20th February (and having been a sky broadband user since Oct 08) I've been getting around 350 KB/sec which given the distance to exchange is perfectly acceptable. However, from that date on, the line has been incredibly temperamental with download speed dropping down to a few KB/sec and each time I reboot the router I'll get a around 100KB/sec and then it'll crash back down (using STEAM / Itunes / speedtest.net as indicators)

      Connection stats themselves are changing a bit each time a new connection is established (latest):

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2816 kbps 503 kbps
      Line Attenuation 61.5 db 37.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 10.0 db

      I've noticed that downstream connection speed is varying between 2700+ to 3100+

      I'll post again once I'm home, just wanted to get the conversation started

      I'm using a filtered faceplate on the master socket (engineer wired and fitted, OpenReach scammed some work from my previous ISP when I reported a non-related issue) with regular filters on the other 3 sockets (telephone, sky box and empty). I've rebooted and reset the router and changed wires numerous times all with the same outcome.

      Nothing has changed in the house / network setup at all, and it's not just my laptop but the wife's netbook and ipod touch. I've tried using the ethernet cable too; all experience the same loss of download speed!!

      Tier 1 said the line is configured correctly for 3meg and there are no line tests going on

      Alongside that issue I requested to go to Unlimited at the beginning of January as I couldn't keep within the 10GB cap but the request keeps failing (note, this still isn't sorted, just provided as an FYI!):
      Upon checking your account history, I can see that you had requested to change your Broadband package from the Everyday pack to our Sky Broadband Unlimited and unfortunately due to an unforeseen system anomaly where our records are still recording a migration to our Sky Voice and Broadband network this request couldn't be carried out.
      The migration request was cancelled on the 29 October 2009 which wouldn't affect your Sky Broadband or Sky Talk in anyway with an exception that any changes requested couldn't be performed until this message has been removed.
      An export of figures from the Speedtest app:

      Date Download Upload Latency ServerName ExternalIp
      12/02/10 19:33 2956 460 158 Birmingham 94.0.212.146
      20/02/10 10:38 2580 493 152 Birmingham 90.216.194.120
      25/02/10 19:03 27 468 135 Birmingham 90.216.194.81
      25/02/10 23:02 1695 503 161 Birmingham 90.218.210.214
      26/02/10 18:14 241 485 4094 Birmingham 90.218.210.214
      26/02/10 18:52 97 501 219 Birmingham 90.218.210.214
      27/02/10 19:02 583 1 140 Birmingham 90.217.138.15
      27/02/10 19:06 322 505 144 Coventry 90.217.138.15
      27/02/10 19:07 632 499 189 Birmingham 90.217.138.15
      27/02/10 23:57 1429 506 150 Birmingham 90.217.138.15
      28/02/10 07:40 2394 504 137 Birmingham 90.210.158.107
      28/02/10 08:07 1433 489 147 Birmingham 90.210.158.107
      28/02/10 16:54 10 3 714 Birmingham 95.151.212.35
      28/02/10 18:39 30 330 406 Birmingham 90.210.158.107
      28/02/10 18:51 101 321 4094 Birmingham 90.210.158.107
      02/03/10 08:06 241 464 142 Birmingham 90.217.138.17
      02/03/10 08:14 210 503 150 Birmingham 90.210.158.119
      02/03/10 19:38 8 233 414 Birmingham 90.210.158.119
      02/03/10 23:15 100 456 3511 Birmingham 90.210.158.81
      02/03/10 23:15 905 488 138 Birmingham 90.210.158.81
      02/03/10 23:16 1233 490 144 Birmingham 90.210.158.81
      02/03/10 23:16 729 503 134 Birmingham 90.210.158.81

      Any ideas; could it be linked to SVBN without being migrated properly??


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Connected but can't download

      Quote Originally Posted by bl!p View Post
      I'm using a filtered faceplate on the master socket (engineer wired and fitted, OpenReach scammed some work from my previous ISP when I reported a non-related issue) with regular filters on the other 3 sockets (telephone, sky box and empty). I've rebooted and reset the router and changed wires numerous times all with the same outcome.
      Just to confirm - you say you're using additional filters on your extension sockets? If so, and you have a filtered faceplate, then you shouldn't need the extra filters. You can connect all other devices without using a filter.

    4. #3
      bl!p's Avatar
      bl!p is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Peters
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Location
      Worcester, UK
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connected but can't download

      Really? So I shouldn't have microfilters on each separate socket around the house?

      Despite the sky website saying:
      7. Connect your microfilter
      Check each telephone socket around your home. Each socket that has a device connected to it, such as games consoles, Sky boxes and telephones, will require a microfilter. Unplug the cable from the telephone socket, insert a microfilter, then insert the cable into the slot on the microfilter marked 'phone.' It's important that a microfilter is the first thing plugged into each telephone socket - no other connectors, splitters or devices should be directly connected to a telephone socket - every one should be connected via a microfilter.
      Why does the faceplate on the master mean that a microfilter isn't necessary on the other sockets?

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Connected but can't download

      if you have a faceplate which has a phone socket and an adsl socket this is called a 'filtered' faceplate. what this does is issolate the dsl signal to that one socket so filters arent needed elsewhere as they aren't on the dsl line...makes things neater
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      bl!p's Avatar
      bl!p is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Peters
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Location
      Worcester, UK
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connected but can't download

      I never knew that thanks!

      OK, regardless of that issue as this is the way I've always been set up, that isn't having an impact on the download . . . is it?

      That would be all of a sudden

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Connected but can't download

      If it is connected properly a filtered faceplate acts like a central filter, all the other outlets are filtered by it, meaning there is no need for other filters. This will not make any difference to your speed.

      Are you certain your speed is not better with ethernet? Try a speed test here-
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/speedtester/

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      bl!p's Avatar
      bl!p is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Peters
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Location
      Worcester, UK
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connected but can't download

      I'll test again when I get home from work - I have tried with ethernet as well and it didn't change the download speed.

    9. #8
      bl!p's Avatar
      bl!p is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Peters
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Location
      Worcester, UK
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connected but can't download

      OK - test socket and ethernet cable

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2656 kbps 608 kbps
      Line Attenuation 60.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 10.1 db 15.0 db

      And using the forum's speedtester

      Test taken
      (up to) Download
      Speed (Kbps) Upload
      Speed (Kbps)
      03 March, 2010 22:09:07 2184 Kbps 511 Kbps

      Just before I plugged in, I couldn't get onto the forum my connection was so slow :S I was getting bits not bytes per sec

      Noticeable slow-down after posting this - connection still the same but speedtest now 784kbps *sigh*

    10. #9
      bl!p's Avatar
      bl!p is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Peters
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Location
      Worcester, UK
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connected but can't download

      Couldn't get online at all this morning so did a full reset.

      Stats are from filtered faceplate rather than direct from master socket.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2784 kbps 608 kbps
      Line Attenuation 59.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 9.7 db 17.0 db

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Connected but can't download

      I wonder if you have malware running? When your speed is very low, close all but one browser window, open a Command Prompt and type netstat /b >enter. This will show all your active connections and what is using them. Make sure you recognise them all. I am assuming you are not using a Mac.

      Do you have another router you can try?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION