Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
    Results 41 to 48 of 48

    not getting the max speed

    This is a discussion on not getting the max speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; It just confirms that your external line or the router have a fault. Phone Sky....

    1. #41
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: not getting the max speed

      It just confirms that your external line or the router have a fault. Phone Sky.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      harty10's Avatar
      harty10 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: not getting the max speed

      what do i say to sky when i ring them ?

    4. #43
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: not getting the max speed

      Just start by telling them you are not happy with your speed and think your phone line or the router are to blame. Tell them you got 17Mb with TalkTalk and expected more from Sky.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #44
      harty10's Avatar
      harty10 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: not getting the max speed

      ok thanks for your help isitme.. much appreciated
      one more thing.. is it possible i could be put on to adsl+2 as thats what i was on with talktalk so maybe thats the problem

    6. #45
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: not getting the max speed

      you're on adsl2+ already, you need to be on anything over 8Mbps...

      Sky's number is 08442 410515 btw
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #46
      harty10's Avatar
      harty10 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: not getting the max speed

      thanks a lot for that.. and all your help iwasnottheenemy

    8. #47
      harty10's Avatar
      harty10 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: not getting the max speed

      something has changed look

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 426360 702764 0 24063 221405 1:25:29
      LAN 437 0 0 0 0 1:36:27
      WLAN 703525 430352 0 224809 26866 1:35:59
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 11257 kbps 948 kbps
      Line Attenuation 17.5 db 7.8 db
      Noise Margin 4.1 db 5.0 db

    9. #48
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: not getting the max speed

      still not enough, noise margin is now at dropping point...best get onto Sky
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION