Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 36 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 356

    Are sky blocking rapidshare.com?

    This is a discussion on Are sky blocking rapidshare.com? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by curious Hi Orbiter, I have just put up on one of my servers in the states a ...

    1. #21
      orbiter's Avatar
      orbiter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCFOM
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Netgear D7800 (AC2600) Nighthawk
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      216
      Thanks
      23
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are sky blocking rapidshare.com?

      Quote Originally Posted by curious View Post
      Hi Orbiter,
      I have just put up on one of my servers in the states a text version of the complete route trace, here's the URL, dont have to worry about any nasties being downloaded as its all clean

      VisualRoute

      Regards,
      John
      I wonder if this has anything to do with the work that's been going on in all the exchanges recently Easynet

      It seems that this easynet-project-filtering was going on a while back too. Can someone please explain what this is please an why it's restricting my 'unlimited' internet access.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      curious's Avatar
      curious is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LVPRE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wink Re: Are sky blocking rapidshare.com?

      dont think it's realted to the upgrades, I think the upgrades are for the new higher speeds that are being tested ready to be installed (50Mb/s here we come)

      Do a search on google for easynet filter project, there should be quite a bit about,
      for some more interesting reading not connected to rapidshare do a search this on Google:-

      echelon project

      it's not only scans the radio but mobiles, emails etc fully automated looking for keywords of a very large base so be very carefull what you write or say, even on what some believe a safe mobile, theyre NOT.

    4. #23
      fadden's Avatar
      fadden is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norwich North
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are sky blocking rapidshare.com?

      I'm quite unhappy about this. I'm new to Sky broadband and have recently paid out for a rapidshare subscription for legitimate reasons and now find I cannot access it.

      Trying with another ISP (at mother in laws round the corner) works fine, as do the workarounds that have been suggested, but the point is we should be able to access it through normal routes.

    5. #24
      curious's Avatar
      curious is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LVPRE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are sky blocking rapidshare.com?

      Just sent a request to broadband support @ sky and got the email back in order to continue with problem request, heres what I replied just;
      ======
      Hi,

      The problem isn’t my setup but filtering out of certain sites, I have attached a HTML rout trace to show that when trying to connect to Rapidshare.com for LEGITIMATE purposes I and many others as can be seen on the Sky User website, we are being filtered out by the easynet filter project. I have phoned easynet support to ask why and they refused to speak to me and said that sky broadband support (who I rang previously to earlier), who piggybacks your network onto theirs, are fobbing me off and to contact you again to investigate the reason for certain sites being blocked.

      I and others do not think that it is fair if you agree to exercise restrictions on certain sites while using them for legitimate purposes such as quick transfer of family pictures to Australia or similar reasons.

    6. #25
      wiimii's Avatar
      wiimii is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are sky blocking rapidshare.com?

      I just rang sky to ask about being blocked and was told its news to them..
      I said I has not happy and asked of a mac code, they just said ok, thanks for using sky broadband you will get it in the post.

    7. #26
      wiimii's Avatar
      wiimii is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are sky blocking rapidshare.com?

      broadband support @ sky phone no 0800 0287855
      Best thing to do is vote with your fingers

    8. #27
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Are sky blocking rapidshare.com?

      The OP's question has been asked so many times on here before. The simple answer usually, is no, Sky are not blocking it and it could be a host of issues outside of Sky's control.

      One of the best ways to get around this so it then works is to use an 's' after the http: bit.

      ie

      Code:
      https://www.rapidshare.com




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #28
      curious's Avatar
      curious is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LVPRE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are sky blocking rapidshare.com?

      I.ve just been running a minute by minute route trace, rapidshare is now connectable as the rout I show doesnt go through easynet but another backbone onto the web.

      The problem is definetly easynet.

    10. #29
      curious's Avatar
      curious is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LVPRE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are sky blocking rapidshare.com?

      or add the following into your hosts file as a permanent bypass of the filtering:-
      80.239.151.250 rapidshare.com # ssl.rapidshare.com

    11. #30
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Are sky blocking rapidshare.com?

      Quote Originally Posted by curious View Post
      or add the following into your hosts file as a permanent bypass of the filtering:-
      80.239.151.250 rapidshare.com # ssl.rapidshare.com
      If Sky were filtering rapidshare, then the https: version would also be blocked, to me, it looks like there is possibly a routing issue, somewhere along the line.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 3 of 36 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION