Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 53

    Help SamKnows and Ofcom - Monitoring your Broadband Performance

    This is a discussion on Help SamKnows and Ofcom - Monitoring your Broadband Performance within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Mines the same, think it may be doing average over x amount of time speed instead of one hit testing. ...

    1. #41
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Help SamKnows and Ofcom - Monitoring your Broadband Performance

      Mines the same, think it may be doing average over x amount of time speed instead of one hit testing.
      Haven't run safari in a while but if all other browsers are fine then the finger points squarely at Safari, Is it looking for a proxy or anything?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      Paul1360's Avatar
      Paul1360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llantrisant
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Brynna
      Posts
      371
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Help SamKnows and Ofcom - Monitoring your Broadband Performance

      I Think it's Safari as I can no longer use it for some reason on my main PC, Laptop A OK. So it's nothing to do with Study.
      Fancy looking router they set us tho

    4. #43
      puskas's Avatar
      puskas is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 028256
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help SamKnows and Ofcom - Monitoring your Broadband Performance

      Just got an email to tell me to expect my 'white box' within 7 days:-)

    5. #44
      dtr44's Avatar
      dtr44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halfway wshal
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      glasgow
      Posts
      1,022
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Help SamKnows and Ofcom - Monitoring your Broadband Performance

      got the email myself today and my mate got it as well seems like they're doing this in test batches [he applied 3 days after me on same exchange]

    6. #45
      Paul1360's Avatar
      Paul1360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llantrisant
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Brynna
      Posts
      371
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Help SamKnows and Ofcom - Monitoring your Broadband Performance

      Hi All,
      Have just had to come off the study for a bit, seems as I've got a faulty router (Not Sams) and am waiting to get a new 1, the other 1 was dropping out all the time. Boo Hoo

    7. #46
      dtr44's Avatar
      dtr44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halfway wshal
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      glasgow
      Posts
      1,022
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Help SamKnows and Ofcom - Monitoring your Broadband Performance

      got mine today just waiting for password etc ps the white box is actually a black cisco like this
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Help SamKnows and Ofcom - Monitoring your Broadband Performance-cisco.jpeg  

    8. #47
      puskas's Avatar
      puskas is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 028256
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help SamKnows and Ofcom - Monitoring your Broadband Performance

      Quote Originally Posted by dtr44 View Post
      got mine today just waiting for password etc ps the white box is actually a black cisco like this
      Same as mine dtr44 just got it today

    9. #48
      TheVoyager's Avatar
      TheVoyager is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: WRBRIX
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet Unl.Fibre
      Router: TP-Link VR2600
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1TB *2
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Camberwell, London
      Posts
      171
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Exclamation Re: Help SamKnows and Ofcom - Monitoring your Broadband Performance

      Quote Originally Posted by dtr44 View Post
      got mine today just waiting for password etc
      I've been waiting just over a week so far for the login details
      Bob

    10. #49
      puskas's Avatar
      puskas is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 028256
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help SamKnows and Ofcom - Monitoring your Broadband Performance

      Any point in setting the router up without the password etc?

    11. #50
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help SamKnows and Ofcom - Monitoring your Broadband Performance

      Plug it in and set it up. All the username/password does is give you access to the online record of your tests. The sooner you plug it in, the sooner it will start recording your details. You will have something to look at as soon as you receive your login details.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION