Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 23

    New Sky Broadband Customer - Low Connection Speed

    This is a discussion on New Sky Broadband Customer - Low Connection Speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Everyone... I recently joined Sky Broadband... They have just finished doing all their tests but my connection speed is ...

    1. #1
      randompunk's Avatar
      randompunk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01787
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New Sky Broadband Customer - Low Connection Speed

      Hi Everyone... I recently joined Sky Broadband... They have just finished doing all their tests but my connection speed is only 3069 kbps whereas when I was with Demon I was connected at 7000+

      I am just wondering what this is due to? When I left Demon they did mention that they use their own hardware to supply such speeds instead of using BT's line or something along those lines...

      I am rather disappointed but if I can do anything to get a better connection speed like emailing Sky or playing about with the router settings then that'll be fantastic.

      I have already got one of those I- Plates from BT.

      My router is a Sagem F@st 2504

      If you need any more information about my connection just let me know...

      Thank you for anyone who take time out to help me regarding this matter.

      Lee


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New Sky Broadband Customer - Low Connection Speed

      Post your stats from your normal position and from the Test socket.
      How to get your router statistics
      How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      randompunk's Avatar
      randompunk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01787
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Broadband Customer - Low Connection Speed

      Thanks very much for your reply... I'll give testing the socket a go tomorrow as I've not got enough time now.

      Will post the results tomorrow...

      Thanks again.

    5. #4
      randompunk's Avatar
      randompunk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01787
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Broadband Customer - Low Connection Speed

      Sorry I couldn't reply with my stats sooner but I have been away.

      These are my stats with my current setup:

      New Sky Broadband Customer - Low Connection Speed-stats.jpg

      These are my stats connected directly to the test socket:

      New Sky Broadband Customer - Low Connection Speed-test-socket.jpg

      Any help will be greatly appreciated.

    6. #5
      randompunk's Avatar
      randompunk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01787
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Broadband Customer - Low Connection Speed

      Sorry its small... I used the attachment tool to add them to the post.

      Seems that if you click on them they enlarge. lol

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New Sky Broadband Customer - Low Connection Speed

      The higher noise margin in your Test socket shows your internal wiring is causing interference. You should buy, fit and use a filtered faceplate which will allow you to get the best your line can support. If your external line is OK you should get 10-11Mb.

      http://www.adslnation.com/products/xte2005.php

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New Sky Broadband Customer - Low Connection Speed

      Ok, that shows that your internal wiring is holding you back. You need to either connect the router to the test socket via a filter or fit a filtered faceplate to it and run the router from there.

    9. #8
      randompunk's Avatar
      randompunk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01787
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Broadband Customer - Low Connection Speed

      Thank you I will look into doing that this week and hopefully see an improvement from this.

      Thanks again for your advice...

      Will post stats if theres an improvement

    10. #9
      randompunk's Avatar
      randompunk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01787
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Broadband Customer - Low Connection Speed

      At the moment I have one of those BT I Plates fitted... that uses the test socket, right?

      So I am to scrap that... fit a XTE-2005 faceplate... then my router in the adsl bit and my phone in the phone bit.

      Do I still need to use a microfilter or does the faceplate act as the filter?

      Would I get away with fitting the XTE-2005 faceplate, then my extension cable with 2 space for a phone but only one phone plugged into it. The extension cable runs into my room currently with a micro filter on the end with my router plugged into it and my sky box!?!

      Would that confuse matters...

      Thanks

    11. #10
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: New Sky Broadband Customer - Low Connection Speed

      You have an extension lead in use? Well that is probably the cause then.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION