Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 23

    New Sky Broadband Customer - Low Connection Speed

    This is a discussion on New Sky Broadband Customer - Low Connection Speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; randompunk Hi you do not need Bt plate XTE-2005 filtered faceplate will replace it Do I still need to use ...

    1. #11
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: New Sky Broadband Customer - Low Connection Speed

      randompunk
      Hi you do not need Bt plate XTE-2005 filtered faceplate will replace it
      Do I still need to use a microfilter or does the faceplate act as the filter?
      No as the XTE-2005 faceplate is filtered. If you can put your router near the Master socket then ethernet cable from the router to your computer have a look http://www.adslnation.com/phpapps/ca...x.php?cPath=33 that will work


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      randompunk's Avatar
      randompunk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01787
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Broadband Customer - Low Connection Speed

      I have always had an extension lead... I had it with my other ISP and had speeds over 7000kbps thats what made me originally post for some help as I don't understand.

      Also I have posted stats from being directly connected into the test socks... no extension lead... and noticed minimal difference.

      I've been advised to install XTE-2005 faceplate and should notice a difference as there maybe a problem with my internal wiring...

      I am just wondering if I can set it up similar to how I have it set up now with my router in my room as thats where I always am when I am online.

    4. #13
      randompunk's Avatar
      randompunk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01787
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Broadband Customer - Low Connection Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by steve16751 View Post
      randompunk
      Hi you do not need Bt plate XTE-2005 filtered faceplate will replace it

      No as the XTE-2005 faceplate is filtered
      Will I need a microfilter if I have an extension lead running from the faceplate to my room otherwise how do I connect my router to the extension lead? Another XTE-2005 faceplate? Or can you get an adsl adapter plug to plug into the extension lead?

    5. #14
      randompunk's Avatar
      randompunk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01787
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Broadband Customer - Low Connection Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by steve16751 View Post
      randompunk
      Hi you do not need Bt plate XTE-2005 filtered faceplate will replace it

      No as the XTE-2005 faceplate is filtered. If you can put your router near the Master socket then ethernet cable from the router to your computer have a look http://www.adslnation.com/phpapps/ca...x.php?cPath=33 that will work
      Ok I thought I could scrap the BT plate...

      My laptop stays in my bedroom upstairs as I only use it there really. So running an ethernet cable from the router downstairs to the laptop upstairs wouldn't work for me.

      I suppose I could try having the router downstairs and see what that wifi signal will be like if I am still in my bedroom... I just think the new router sky gave me is a little bit on the cheap and nasty side. But I will give it a go and keep my fingers crossed for some improved speeds.

      Thanks

    6. #15
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: New Sky Broadband Customer - Low Connection Speed

      randompunk
      Hi instead of an extention cable or extention lead the router near the master socket is best then I think you could use homeplugs you can have a look on home plug - Ask Jeeves Search
      Last edited by steve16751; 07-03-10 at 11:28 PM.

    7. #16
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: New Sky Broadband Customer - Low Connection Speed

      Wireless issues can often be resolved by changing the channel in use on the router, best bet right now is to download something like netstumbler to see what is around you on wireless and then change the router to a channel not in use by other people.

    8. #17
      randompunk's Avatar
      randompunk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01787
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Broadband Customer - Low Connection Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      Wireless issues can often be resolved by changing the channel in use on the router, best bet right now is to download something like netstumbler to see what is around you on wireless and then change the router to a channel not in use by other people.
      That sounds like a plan to improve the signal on my router... thank you I shall have a go at that.

    9. #18
      randompunk's Avatar
      randompunk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01787
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Broadband Customer - Low Connection Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by steve16751 View Post
      randompunk
      Hi instead of an extention cable or extention lead use ethernet cable from the router to your computer. can you put the router near the Master socket then ethernet from the rouer to your computer you will not need any filters. ethernet comes in various sizes
      I can have the router next to the master socket but I am unable to run an ethernet cable from the router downstairs to my laptop upstairs... Its just too far to run the lead... I'd have to drill one hole through the wall downstairs and a hole in my room upstairs and feed the ethernet cable through the hole... up the outside of the house then into my bedroom... also I'd have to cover the cable to make it weather proof.

    10. #19
      theoutsider's Avatar
      theoutsider is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Broadband Customer - Low Connection Speed

      Once you have everything optimised, you will most likely need to ring tech support and ask them to submit a ticket asking for your line to be reconfigured or DLM re-initialised as it looks like DLM has configured your line to this speed and it will not increase without intervention. when you call, ask them to do a Swish test and ask them to tell you the "max attainable" speed shown as this shows what you could have connected at, if DLM was not holding you back.

    11. #20
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: New Sky Broadband Customer - Low Connection Speed

      randompunk
      Hi yes I understand that have you thought of homeplugs sorry was not able to help further Amazon.co.uk: home plugs

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION