Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Poor broadband speeds

    This is a discussion on Poor broadband speeds within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys yesterday afternoon i upgraded my broadband from the 2MB base to the 10MB mid option online, but i ...

    1. #1
      RICH24's Avatar
      RICH24 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Poor broadband speeds

      Hi guys yesterday afternoon i upgraded my broadband from the 2MB base to the 10MB mid option online, but i haven't noticed any speed increase and when i just tested it it's actually slower then before.

      Here are the results from speed.io (Yesterday it was showing about 1260kbps)


      Router stats
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1018 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 39.0 db 20.3 db
      Noise Margin 8.3 db 17.4 db


      Any ideas?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Poor broadband speeds

      How do you connect your router to the telephone line? How many sockets do you have in your house and what is connected to them? Your speed is very low for your attenuation.

    4. #3
      RICH24's Avatar
      RICH24 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor broadband speeds

      Hi, Router is connected by the ADSL cable to filter which is plugged into extension socket in upstairs bedroom. Have this socket and master socket downstairs, master socket has telephone extension plugged into it.

      Thanks

    5. #4
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Poor broadband speeds

      If the master socket simply has a telephone cable going into it, then make sure you put a filter before the telephone cable.

      Also, it'd be much better if you moved the router down to the master socket, ensuring you use no extensions for the broadband - just use the light grey sky supplied dsl cable.

      Once you've done that, re-take the stats and you should see a big increase in the noise margin and/or the downstream figure.

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Poor broadband speeds

      Get your stats again from the TEST socket this time (How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket) this will show you what you should be getting without the extension lead etc.

    7. #6
      RICH24's Avatar
      RICH24 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor broadband speeds

      I'll bump this thread, save making a new one.

      Ok, so a day or 2 after i made this thread my speeds started increasing naturally and i thought it was just the case of giving it time to adjust. After a day or 2 my speed had gone up to around 4200kbps on the SKY broadband test (not brilliant but alot better then i was getting, and could notice a big difference when playing XBOX LIVE etc)

      Then a day or 2 ago, i was checking my speeds again and noticed its gone right down again.
      These are the results from just now, nothing has changed so i have no idea what the problem could be?

      Thanks Rich


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2047 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 39.0 db 20.4 db
      Noise Margin 10.8 db 16.6 db

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Poor broadband speeds

      DLM is working on your line. Have you plugged into the Test socket and taken your stats, as already advised? If so please post them. When you remove the faceplate to check the Test socket, check if any of your extensions have a dial tone.

      If your external line is OK you should get 9-10Mb.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION