Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 32

    Moving house & SkyBB!!

    This is a discussion on Moving house & SkyBB!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; It's yet another broken promise of a call back from sky. I'm considering just leaving it and see if when ...

    1. #11
      karaokian's Avatar
      karaokian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Northbourne STNTHBN
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Bournemouth
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question

      It's yet another broken promise of a call back from sky.

      I'm considering just leaving it and see if when BT do their thing on moving day that the bb will just work (Same exchange, same phone no, so in theory its a simple cable change - i think!)

      I'd be interested to hear other people's thoughts on this, as ive got another few days before moving.
      Last edited by karaokian; 04-10-06 at 08:31 PM. Reason: typo


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Nutter's Avatar
      Nutter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      80
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Wheelie View Post


      What a thought and after you buy it you find out that the line goes in the opposite direction and get back to your house after doing a 10 mile loop
      Dont laugh this was the case for my old boss.
      He was 2 miles from the exchange.
      His phone went stright passed his house for a further 3 miles to service the houses at the end of his lane. Then the line fed into each house starting from the end of the road to each house.
      in effect his phone line was 8 miles long.
      They only found this out after he ordered a second line for a fax machine.
      They then rewired all the houses on it.
      There are 10 people who understand binary, Those that do and those that dont

    4. #13
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I can well believe that Nutter now a couple of people who have had the very scenario I posted only they never lived next to the exchange they lived 1 street away but could still see it from there back gardens
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    5. #14
      Gaztops's Avatar
      Gaztops is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Wanadoo/Orange
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      350
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      @ karaokian

      Speaking as an Ex BT Telephone Engineer, when someone moves house to another house in the same exchange area and they want to keep the same telephone number. A new Jumper Wire is run from the exchange equipment to the line which is going to your new home. Maximum time to physically complete this task is 20 minutes providing that your new home has got a non faulty line all the way back to the exchange and you have all the relevant sockets installed in the house.

    6. #15
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Thanks for that info Gaz
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    7. #16
      karaokian's Avatar
      karaokian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Northbourne STNTHBN
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Bournemouth
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      @gaztops

      Many thanks for that info gaz, just one question tho... Does that jumper wire you talk about also run to the dacs for bb?? If so is it likely that when the line is active that the bb will be also - even without sky doing anything??

      Thanks in advance!

    8. #17
      Gaztops's Avatar
      Gaztops is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Wanadoo/Orange
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      350
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      In theory because you are keeping the same number, all of the services that you receive through your telephone line should be easily transferred to your new address including your existing telephone number.

      A jumper wire acts as a bridge between the exchange equipment and the out going line. All the engineer needs to do is renew that bridge from the exchange equipment to the line going to your new address.

    9. #18
      karaokian's Avatar
      karaokian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Northbourne STNTHBN
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Bournemouth
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Excellent! All I need to do now is persuede sky into just worrying about putting me up a new dish and to COMPLETELY leave the BB side of things to BT

      I'll keep you all posted!

    10. #19
      karaokian's Avatar
      karaokian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Northbourne STNTHBN
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Bournemouth
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      As expected, now a turn for the worse!

      I logged into the BT order tracker to make sure everything was still in place and I see this:

      An order under my account number and telephone number for CEASE;

      An order under my account number, but with a different phone number for PROVIDE (not too worried about the different tel number as it lists a RENUMBER in the order details)

      Both of these are dated a week or so ago when I called BT to arrange it all.

      A 3rd order that is dated yesterday under my account no and yet another different tel no, CEASE IPStream Max on my moving date

      I called BT and they cannot discuss this order with me as they dont have a record of it, but directed me to discuss it with Sky..

      As gaz says above, I just want my linecard connected to the line to the new house - LEAVE IT ALONE SKY!!

      I just called sky, they dont have the smallest idea what it's all about! Any suggestions greatfully recieved......

      Please!

    11. #20
      Gaztops's Avatar
      Gaztops is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Wanadoo/Orange
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      350
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I'm absolutely shocked to see that you have a "Cease" on your line. I've provided 100's of new lines to residential homes and not one of them has taken me more than 20 mintues( after proving the line from the exchange to the customer) to transfer the service.

      Communications in the 21st century..........Disgraceful.

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION