Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    DLM running - What should i expect?

    This is a discussion on DLM running - What should i expect? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there, Upgraded to Sky Unlimited a few days ago. DLM is doing its thing and wondered what kind of ...

    1. #1
      djkevess's Avatar
      djkevess is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      DLM running - What should i expect?

      Hi there,

      Upgraded to Sky Unlimited a few days ago. DLM is doing its thing and wondered what kind of speed i should expect.

      The speed initial dropped from the 2046 kbps. My router stats are as below, i get the same stats in the master and test sockets (after i have now disconnected my extensions).

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1019 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 41 db 22 db
      Noise Margin 28 db 16 db


      Many Thanks,

      Kev


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: DLM running - What should i expect?

      You should see 7-8mb with those stats.

    4. #3
      djkevess's Avatar
      djkevess is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DLM running - What should i expect?

      Thanks Smithy99. I think i have about 6 days left on DLM to run. Only problem is i removed the extensions in my house on day 3 because i realised something wasn't right (6db Noise Margin). How much will this mess up the the DLM process? Should DLM now realise the improved line and start to bump it up?

      Cheers

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: DLM running - What should i expect?

      If it had started when you did the work it may already have decided that you have a problem and wrongly set the sync speed, wait until Friday and if it hasn't changed give Sky a call and tell them that you have improved your wiring and would like the line manually configured.

    6. #5
      djkevess's Avatar
      djkevess is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DLM running - What should i expect?

      Had a feeling that it may have done that.

      Cheers Smithy99, im sure that i will be calling them then.

    7. #6
      djkevess's Avatar
      djkevess is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DLM running - What should i expect?

      One final thing....

      Is it at all worth calling sky within the 10 days to override the DLM? Would re-syncing the router help at all or is this just rebooting the router? I have an uptime on the router of 36hrs since i improved the wiring.

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: DLM running - What should i expect?

      You could try (although this will annoy IWNTE).

      It does sound like the DLM has stalled due to the wiring you have improved. You have nothing to lose with a reboot as if DLM has stalled it won't make any difference.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION