Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 63

    noise margin

    This is a discussion on noise margin within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by smiley rulez i'm a little confused at the moment. i haven't been disconnected all day! i don't ...

    1. #41
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: noise margin

      Quote Originally Posted by smiley rulez View Post
      i'm a little confused at the moment.

      i haven't been disconnected all day!

      i don't know what's been causing the disconnections but if it was my internal wiring wouldn't it have played up when i first got bb back in 2007/8?
      its very common for people to use an extension socket or extension cable for many years without problems, 4-5 years even in some cases but if it works perfectly directly in the master/test socket then theres nothing sky can really do

      you would definately be charged if the fault is with the internal wiring in the house, ive heard people say that you can still be charged if they find a fault but other users on here will probably have a better idea!

      youve had no connection problems all day, did you do anything differently??


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      smiley rulez's Avatar
      smiley rulez is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Austell
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      St Austell
      Posts
      113
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: noise margin

      i moved the router into the front room the last night and it disconnected an hour or two later.

      this morning i move the router again back into the dining room because my desktop pc doesn't have wifi.

    4. #43
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: noise margin

      I have told you how to get the best result from your wiring. It will take less than 5 minutes with a small screwdriver.

      The interference on internal wiring is constantly changing. One minute it will be perfectly fine then the next it will drop out. There is a post on the forum where a user was advised to stop using a long extension, he plugged directly into the test socket a got an immediate improvement. He put the long extension back on and posted back saying his figures were the same as the Test socket, accompanying the post with lots of implying that we were wrong and he was right. About an hour later he posted back with lots of admitting that his speed had dropped through the floor.

      This is why a filtered faceplate is the best solution as it takes all the internal wiring out of the equation. You can't fit one to your incoming line but you can at what is acting as your master, which is the next best thing. Doing it this way would not break any BT regs either.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #44
      smiley rulez's Avatar
      smiley rulez is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Austell
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      St Austell
      Posts
      113
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: noise margin

      ok

      any suggestions on the best type of filtered faceplate?

    6. #45
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: noise margin

      Have a read through this thread for an idea. -
      ADSL Faceplate Filters - SkyUser Reviews

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #46
      smiley rulez's Avatar
      smiley rulez is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Austell
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      St Austell
      Posts
      113
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: noise margin

      i get better noise margins when using the socket upstairs

      which would probably give better results ?

    8. #47
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: noise margin

      Which socket is that? You said earlier-
      there are only 2 phone sockets in my property one in the dining room (which my router is connected to) and one in the front room.
      Are you referring to the master socket which you said you could not reach?
      my master socket is in my loft but i can't get to it because i've had a loft conversion and the gap that leads to it is....well small

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #48
      smiley rulez's Avatar
      smiley rulez is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Austell
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      St Austell
      Posts
      113
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: noise margin

      in post 31, 32 i task about the third extensions socket in a bedroom above the dining room.

      when i plugged it in there the noise margin did seem to get higher by 2db at least!

    10. #49
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: noise margin

      the cable i mentioned goes into the wall and then upstairs
      I took this to mean that it went upstairs to your loft as you did not say it was going to another socket. You did say that you only had 2 sockets, so it looks like you now have 3.

      How many cables are going into / out of this socket? Picture please?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #50
      smiley rulez's Avatar
      smiley rulez is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Austell
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      St Austell
      Posts
      113
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: noise margin

      the socket is in a built in cuboard which also has a bed blocking it.

      the socket has 1 wire going into it. that wire i think is coming from the dining room socket. it is not the master as it is at the back of the property.

      sky said it could be giving me better noise margins because it's nearer the loft.

     

     
    Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION