Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Speed drop after moving main socket?

    This is a discussion on Speed drop after moving main socket? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; We used to have the main socket on the bottom floor (the house has 3 floors) and in the test ...

    1. #1
      ak9779's Avatar
      ak9779 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Speed drop after moving main socket?

      We used to have the main socket on the bottom floor (the house has 3 floors) and in the test socket we'd get download speeds of about 1 mb/s.

      However the wireless signal was usually like 2/5 because the computer is on the top floor so we got the main socket moved to the top floor, right next to the computer.

      We tested it multiple times while the man was there and got a 1 mb/s download speed and so he left.

      30 minutes later I tested it again and it was down to 500 kb/s!

      I've tried everything from rebooting the router and the computer to unplugging wires etc...

      Does it take a while to stabilize when the socket is moved? I'm quite annoyed by this as it means I can't watch YouTube videos without letting them buffer again...

      When I put it in the test socket, the router statistics rise but the speed stays at 500 kb/s...


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed drop after moving main socket?

      Would like to post your stats for comment?
      How to get your router statistics

      From Test and normal socket please

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      ak9779's Avatar
      ak9779 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed drop after moving main socket?

      I've just been on the phone to Sky and they've said there's a problem... Forgot the name of it...

      Can't mess with the socket now because he's going to ring me back in a few minutes... Might be testing something.

      The statstistics for the test socket are:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 928 kbps 320 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.5 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 4.0 db 6.0 db

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed drop after moving main socket?

      You seem to have a problem somewhere, what speed did you end up with when you phoned Sky last time, - Dreadful Internet Speed

      You need to ask them to try you on G.DMT if they have not already done so,

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      ak9779's Avatar
      ak9779 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed drop after moving main socket?

      I got it up to 1mb/s (even up to 1.5mb/s at one point but 1mb/s average) in the test socket, but stupidly we got the test socket moved closer to the computer so we could have better wireless signal...

      I must be on Connect because I can use the official BT speedtester as you said...

      I have asked them about G.DMT and they said it wasn't available for me...

      We're considering getting the test socket moved back to where it was, do you think this could fix it?

      I'm actually sick of Sky; the guy on the phone today didn't have a clue and was completely clueless as to why the speed went down... Might just move to another ISP, but would that help?

      Anyway this thread is mainly about why the speed dropped... We are obviously capable of getting 1mb/s+ speed (the downstream was 1920 mb/s sometimes when it was downstairs) but now when I just ran the BT speedtester I got 311 kb/s...

    7. #6
      ak9779's Avatar
      ak9779 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed drop after moving main socket?

      Bt technician is coming back on Monday and moving the socket back...

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed drop after moving main socket?

      It looks like he did not do a very good job of moving it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      ak9779's Avatar
      ak9779 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed drop after moving main socket?

      Got it moved again and it's fine now - cheers

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION