Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    Master socket problem

    This is a discussion on Master socket problem within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi. Ive been an idiot and been connecting to my internet for the past 4 years via the extension socket. ...

    1. #1
      domjokes's Avatar
      domjokes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Smethwick
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Master socket problem

      Hi. Ive been an idiot and been connecting to my internet for the past 4 years via the extension socket.

      Today I tried to connect it to the "master socket" and it won't connect. I am using the old netgear router DG834GT. I connected everything with just the router and the ADSL filter connected but to no avail.

      Help.
      Please & thank you.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Master socket problem

      When you say "master socket" do you mean the Test socket - How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket ? If so there may be a build up of residue which is preventing a clean contact. Work the plug in and out a few times wiggling it about at the same time. A squirt of WD40 often helps.

      The other reason it might not work is if it is not wired properly. Remove the backplate and check that the incoming wires are connected to the A-B terminals.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      domjokes's Avatar
      domjokes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Smethwick
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Master socket problem

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      When you say "master socket" do you mean the Test socket - How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket ? If so there may be a build up of residue which is preventing a clean contact. Work the plug in and out a few times wiggling it about at the same time. A squirt of WD40 often helps.

      The other reason it might not work is if it is not wired properly. Remove the backplate and check that the incoming wires are connected to the A-B terminals.
      That worked! The last solution you gave thank you!

      But the download/upload speed hasnt changed. Is this normal?
      I get 0.3 MB download speed when I should get at least 4.5MBps.
      Is there a specific telephone number for Sky where I can re-configure my conncetion?

      Many thanks!

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Master socket problem

      Maybe you should post your stats first. Then we can give you an idea what is what.
      How to get your router statistics

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      domjokes's Avatar
      domjokes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Smethwick
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Master socket problem

      Heres my stats:

    7. #6
      domjokes's Avatar
      domjokes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Smethwick
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Master socket problem

      Anyone ??

    8. #7
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Master socket problem

      are those stats from when your router is in the "test socket"??

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Master socket problem

      Sky should be able to give you another 1Mb+ with these, but it should really be better. Ask them if they can try your line on G.DMT. You appear to be on ADSL2+ which does not always suit long lines like yours.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      domjokes's Avatar
      domjokes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Smethwick
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Master socket problem

      Quote Originally Posted by Donaldson2121 View Post
      are those stats from when your router is in the "test socket"??
      Yes they are.

    11. #10
      domjokes's Avatar
      domjokes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Smethwick
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Master socket problem

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Sky should be able to give you another 1Mb+ with these, but it should really be better. Ask them if they can try your line on G.DMT. You appear to be on ADSL2+ which does not always suit long lines like yours.
      Indeed I did phone them earlier and they said I should at least be getting 4.5 MB.
      The guy I was talking to on the phone said that, I should put the router in the master socket and then ask sky to reconfigure my connection?

      Thanks.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION