Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Unlimited Broadband Help

    This is a discussion on Unlimited Broadband Help within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I recently recived a letter saying i'd been updated to sky unlimited broadband, so as i use sky player on ...

    1. #1
      cseuk's Avatar
      cseuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unlimited Broadband Help

      I recently recived a letter saying i'd been updated to sky unlimited broadband, so as i use sky player on my xbox and dont have multiroom etc.. to watch live tv i checked that, i can now watch live tv. So im asuming ive been updated but still my broadband speeds havent changed.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6139 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 34 db 19 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 17 db

      Is this normal? and as you can probably tell im useless at things like this, anyhelp would be appreciated.

      Thanks,


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Unlimited Broadband Help

      cseuk
      Hi it depend when you were upgraded also Sky player uses P2P this will explain the upgrade http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-p...allowance.html

    4. #3
      cseuk's Avatar
      cseuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unlimited Broadband Help

      Quote Originally Posted by steve16751 View Post
      cseuk
      Hi it depend when you were upgraded also Sky player uses P2P this will explain the upgrade http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-p...allowance.html
      i think this applys more to the online sky player as my xbox is not always turned on.

    5. #4
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Unlimited Broadband Help

      cseuk
      Hi Sky have upgraded your connection because you have gone over the 10GB Usage Cap more than once
      to watch live tv i checked that, i can now watch live tv. So im asuming ive been updated but still my broadband speeds havent changed.
      The reason I ask
      I recently recived a letter saying i'd been updated to sky unlimited broadband,
      Is you could be on DLM which takes about 10 days but with any problems could be up to 20 days it is Sky`s T&Cs.

    6. #5
      cseuk's Avatar
      cseuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unlimited Broadband Help

      Quote Originally Posted by steve16751 View Post
      cseuk
      Hi Sky have upgraded your connection because you have gone over the 10GB Usage Cap more than once
      The reason I ask
      Is you could be on DLM which takes about 10 days but with any problems could be up to 20 days it is Sky`s T&Cs.
      ah thank you, its probably only about a week ago i got the letter.

      but could you explain this to me? Ive seen on other posts people have said like due to what there router stats say that they will be able to get full speed

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6139 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 34 db 19 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 17 db

      as i have no clue what this means?

    7. #6
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Unlimited Broadband Help

      cseuk
      Hi better than telling you have a look at Sky router stats (speed, noise, attenuation) explained the attenuaion on the page is if you have a perfect line and the maximum you could achieve so if you deduct 512kbps that is giving room for issues. Plus lots of information.

      The only thing I see that might cause problem is your noise margin Downstream 7db is low what you could do is plug your router into the test socket if you have one the reason is need to see the noise margin higher as the noise margin comes down the speed goes up. have a read
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view-master.html

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Unlimited Broadband Help

      Your upload shows you have already been upgraded to Unlimited, but your download is poor. You should have about double this. Plug into the Test socket using only the cables and filter supplied be Sky and post your stats,

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      cseuk's Avatar
      cseuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unlimited Broadband Help

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Your upload shows you have already been upgraded to Unlimited, but your download is poor. You should have about double this. Plug into the Test socket using only the cables and filter supplied be Sky and post your stats,
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6140 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35 db 19 db
      Noise Margin 16 db 17 db


      thats with doing everything you said

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Unlimited Broadband Help

      That shows your internal wiring is causing interference. Buy, fit and use a filtered faceplate, this will give you a higher speed, probably around 10-11Mb. When you do that phone Sky and they will increase your speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION