Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 23

    Speed after Upgrade Question

    This is a discussion on Speed after Upgrade Question within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; did you try the router in the test socket with other filters to see if the upload noise wat still ...

    1. #11
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed after Upgrade Question

      did you try the router in the test socket with other filters to see if the upload noise wat still in the negatives? looks like a 20Mb line if you can sort it out


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      quanto's Avatar
      quanto is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed after Upgrade Question

      The Router was plugged into the Master BT test socket with a different filter stats as tested below
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7005 kbps 252 kbps
      Line Attenuation 19 db 9 db
      Noise Margin 25 db 2147483647 db

    4. #13
      quanto's Avatar
      quanto is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed after Upgrade Question

      Is the sky unlimited a asdl" product from the exchange?

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed after Upgrade Question

      Your downstream noise margin is fine, enough to give you around 18-19Mb. The problem is your upstream, which is negative. If you have tried other filters I don't know what else you can do. It could be a line fault but with your good downstream margin, that would be strange. It could be a faulty router which is causing it or simply mis-reporting. Did you try resetting the router?

      If so, I think all you can do is phone Sky and ask them to increase your speed, maybe they will agree to send you another router. Remember you will have to be in the Test socket when you do this and you will have to fit and use a filtered faceplate. Returning the router to the other socket will result in your speed dropping back again.

      Sky LLU is ADSL and has nothing to do with the BT ADSL.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      quanto's Avatar
      quanto is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed after Upgrade Question

      Thanks for that
      The BT master socket is at the front of the house and no mains power hence why the router is the back room.
      I am not to bothered about the upload speed but if im paying 15 I would appreciate the increased download speeds or look elsewhere with some who allows a greater download than 10gig.
      Because sky have upgraded to unlimited due to me going over the 10gig limit would they automatically increase the speed to what the line is capable of? and by me requesting the increase does this tie me to an new broadband contract?

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed after Upgrade Question

      Sky will automatically increase your speed to as much as your line can stably support. Unfortunately you internal wiring is causing problems and if you can't fix these you will not get any more. There is nothing Sky can do about your internal wiring, you would get no more with any other ISP. Sort out your wiring and you will possibly get 18-19Mb.

      You can do this by fitting a filtered faceplate and buying a good quality longer ADSL RJ11 cable to get you to a power outlet. This could be up to 15M long with little drop in performance.

      I am not sure about starting a new contract when your package is upgraded. It did not happen before all the new Conditions were put in place.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      quanto's Avatar
      quanto is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed after Upgrade Question

      Right rewired so my stats are as follows should I now get a increase in speed Just need to know before I spend time in the Q to speak to someone to tell me to check my wiring.
      Cabled a new cat5 cable from router to the Master socket
      The only query I upstream noise margin doesn't change and also if I'm on unlimited should the upstream connection speed change.

      thanks

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7005 kbps 252 kbps
      Line Attenuation 19 db 9 db
      Noise Margin 25 db 2147483647 db

    9. #18
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Speed after Upgrade Question

      You need to ring Sky and get them to manually configure the line, that upstream may cause them a issue though, hopefully it is just a glitch.

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed after Upgrade Question

      There is still a problem somewhere, but I am pretty sure if you get through to the Customer Solutions Team they will be able to fix it. It will be worth waiting in the Q, just jump through the hoops for Tier 1 and they will pass you on.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      quanto's Avatar
      quanto is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed after Upgrade Question

      Thanks will try and get get put through
      The stats have changed slightly to the following

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7005 kbps 252 kbps
      Line Attenuation 19 db 9 db
      Noise Margin 19 db 2147483647 db

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION