Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 22

    Slow speed

    This is a discussion on Slow speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; You are not posting the right stats. Log into your router, scroll down to the bottom of the page and ...

    1. #11
      Richie Rich's Avatar
      Richie Rich is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky World HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Location
      Don't know myself
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Slow speed

      You are not posting the right stats. Log into your router, scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on 'show statistics'. A new window will open up. This is what we need to see.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Slow speed

      CallumFay
      Hi remember I asked you if your exchange is SamKnows Broadband - Availability - Exchange Search also your router stats

      How to get your router statistics
      Attenuation, speed and noise margin, the rest will tell us little.

    4. #13
      CallumFay's Avatar
      CallumFay is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speed

      Sorry here are the stats:


      System Up Time: 51:27:52
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 545290 378074 0 901 3680 19:53:29
      LAN 100M/Full 7839 0 0 5 0 51:27:47
      WLAN 11M/54M 1291538 1356576 0 3170 979 51:27:35
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4256 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 40 db 22 db
      Noise Margin 4 db 23 db

      And i am Glasgow south. Sorry about my own incompetence lol.

      http://192.168.0.1/setup.cgi?next_file=system.html

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow speed

      It is a bit strange! Looking at these stats I would say you were on Connect as Steve suggested earlier, but the first details you posted refute this. Can you now plug into your Test socket and post your stats from there?

      The Glasgow South exchange on Nelson St is definitely enable for Sky.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Slow speed

      CallumFay
      Hi as Tom said Glasgow South has Sky LLU since 11/03/2004 if it turns out that you are on the connect package you can ask Sky to move you over to one of Sky`s LLU packages.
      Here`s the How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket it would help solve some issues.

    7. #16
      CallumFay's Avatar
      CallumFay is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speed

      I removed the faceplate and put it in the test socket with these results:

      http://192.168.0.1/setup.cgi?next_file=system.html

      I really have no idea what is going on because is it not meant to be higher DSS with the test socket?



      My line quality also .

    8. #17
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Slow speed

      CallumFay
      Hi it would have been better to copy and paste as you did with the previous test because can use the 191.168.0.1 but if your password is different to Sky then we will not know it also you should keep your password private you can either enable Sky password then change it back to your private password or so you do not have to change anything copy and paste the test I think I am wrong because I have just it using my password and it only gives my stats

    9. #18
      CallumFay's Avatar
      CallumFay is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speed

      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 54:47:44
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 756273 509368 0 1141 3914 23:13:22
      LAN 100M/Full 8259 0 0 5 0 54:47:40
      WLAN 11M/54M 1427739 1572567 0 3313 1079 54:47:28
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3808 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 40 db 22 db
      Noise Margin 8 db 22 db

      there you go

    10. #19
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Slow speed

      CallumFay
      Hi it does look like Sky Connect to be certain go to your MY Sky login and look at your BB it will tell you there exactly what Sky BB package you are on. If it is and your exchange is Glasgow South ask Sky to be put on there LLU network it has happened before where the exchange was full and only Connect available. Your Stats Isitme will more than look at the stats in the morning he can give you a lot more information than I could

    11. #20
      CallumFay's Avatar
      CallumFay is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speed

      Ok will do thanks.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION