Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Sky & Belkin G+ Mimo Router

    This is a discussion on Sky & Belkin G+ Mimo Router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I have been using Sky broadband for some years with the supplied Netgear DG834GT ADSL108 modem/router ... as a ...

    1. #1
      Kyuuketsuki's Avatar
      Kyuuketsuki is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01795
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Sky & Belkin G+ Mimo Router

      Hi,

      I have been using Sky broadband for some years with the supplied Netgear DG834GT ADSL108 modem/router ... as a hardwired system it's fine but wireless connectivity sucks.

      As far as I know the official Sky position is you have to use supplied kit but I want better range/connectivity (well it could hardly be worse at present) on my wireless gear to use a laptop without hardwiring.

      Does anyone know if it is possible to get a Belkin G+ Mimo to work instead? I have tried without success (wrong user and password) even though I used this link here to get what I think might be the correct ones:

      https://www.cm9.net/skypass/

      Any ideas? Is it possible at all?

      Kyu


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky & Belkin G+ Mimo Router

      You could just piggy back the Belkin to the Sky router, turn off the wirless in the Sky one and use the Belkin wireless, no breach of T&C's this way.

    4. #3
      Kyuuketsuki's Avatar
      Kyuuketsuki is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01795
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs up Re: Sky & Belkin G+ Mimo Router

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      You could just piggy back the Belkin to the Sky router, turn off the wirless in the Sky one and use the Belkin wireless, no breach of T&C's this way.
      TBH I'm more concerned with the technicalities than I am with T&C's ... if Sky chose to chuck me off broadband, no biggy, I'd go to another ISP. What I want to know is what the technical issues are that are stopping me ... I strongly suspect it's the password/user and, since the user reflects that MAC code,that they are somehow hard-linked to the MAC.

      If I can't get the Belkin working (except as a WAP) is there any other unit I can buy/use that offers superior coverage or maybe Sky themselves offer a better unit?

      Thanks for the reply

      Kyu

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky & Belkin G+ Mimo Router

      You will only need your username and password and maybe change a few other settings, the website you have linked to to get your details works fine, chances are it is a mistake your end, try copying and pasting the results and ensure you are using the correct MAC code.

      It may be worth piggybacking just to see how much of an improvement you get.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky & Belkin G+ Mimo Router

      as a hardwired system it's fine but wireless connectivity sucks.
      The DG 834GT is usually quite good with wireless. Have you tried changing the Channel?

      As Smithy says, the result from that site are 100%, if your details are being refused then you have not put in the proper details. Copy and paste the LAN MAC of your router, shown on the Router Status page, to a PM and send it to me. I will check it for you.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Kyuuketsuki's Avatar
      Kyuuketsuki is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01795
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs up Re: Sky & Belkin G+ Mimo Router

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      As Smithy says, the result from that site are 100%, if your details are being refused then you have not put in the proper details. Copy and paste the LAN MAC of your router, shown on the Router Status page, to a PM and send it to me. I will check it for you.
      Thanks ... I'll do that this evening when I get home

      Kyu

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky & Belkin G+ Mimo Router

      I should have said that you can also get your details by installing the Sky Router Tool available from-
      Sky router tool

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      gem's Avatar
      gem
      gem is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky & Belkin G+ Mimo Router

      yup, its possible to use a non-sky router, username and password, try using the mac and serial number indicated in the router, not sure which one is the username or the password, so try both of them...

    10. #9
      The Madpaddy's Avatar
      The Madpaddy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky & Belkin G+ Mimo Router

      how do you piggyback the belkin g+mino onto a sky router

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION