Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    Broadband dropping out

    This is a discussion on Broadband dropping out within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Smithy99 You say they are from the master socket, we need to see them from the TEST ...

    1. #11
      rustydiver's Avatar
      rustydiver is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01278
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband dropping out

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      You say they are from the master socket, we need to see them from the TEST socket, this is uncovered when you remove the lower faceplate from the master and will isolate all the existing wiring.
      Sorry it was from the test socket the behind the one faceplate.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Broadband dropping out

      It does not look good
      There are two things you can do. The first is to call Sky and ask them to cap your line down a bit as it is unstable. The second is to report a line fault to your telephone provider. But you will be told that if the fault is on your side of the master socket, you will be charged for the call out and repairs necessary. If the fault is on your external line, you will not be charged. As you are getting similar results in the Test socket as you do in your extension, the fault is external.

      One final thing, is your extension fitted to the faceplate of the master socket? Are all your extension dead, ie, no dial tone, when the faceplate is removed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      rustydiver's Avatar
      rustydiver is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01278
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband dropping out

      Have just put the router in another upstairs room (where the main upstairs socket is) and i am getting about the same sats again.
      Yep all the other phones are isolated when faceplate is removed.

      Real dumb question coming up now, when you say telephone provider, phone is with sky but line with BT. I take it is sky then.

    5. #14
      Richie Rich's Avatar
      Richie Rich is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky World HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Location
      Don't know myself
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Broadband dropping out

      Your phone provider is who you pay line rental to.

    6. #15
      rustydiver's Avatar
      rustydiver is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01278
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband dropping out

      Just looked at the line sats from the upstairs main plug again and

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7491 kbps 906 kbps
      Line Attenuation 24.0 db 11.6 db
      Noise Margin 23.1 db 8.5 db

      They have all changed. i know it dosnt take muct to but im confused now have been looking out of curosity and im only about 700m if that as the crow flies from the exchange.

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Broadband dropping out

      I think DLM has kicked in and capped your connection. You will have to phone Sky and ask them to trouble shoot you for speed and manually configure your line.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      rustydiver's Avatar
      rustydiver is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01278
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband dropping out (update)

      Been on to sky broadband and they were great (unlike sky tv, ongoing issue) she couls hear the line noise, unplugged router noise goes, line test shows all ok, going to send me a new router she thinks the router may be faulty. Hope that will do.

      If the broadband wasnt so good i would cancel sky, sky tv and downgrading packages dont go, customer services dont care. Sorry i digress wrong part of the forum

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION