Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 25

    Insanely slow speeds

    This is a discussion on Insanely slow speeds within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Do you mean they are from the Test socket, behind the master faceplate?...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Insanely slow speeds

      Do you mean they are from the Test socket, behind the master faceplate?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Hiekel Essterol's Avatar
      Hiekel Essterol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallasey LVWAL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Insanely slow speeds

      No. They are from the master faceplate itself at the moment. Will try from the test socket later.

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Insanely slow speeds

      Let's hope we see a big improvement.

      Check when the faceplate is off that all your extensions are dead.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      Hiekel Essterol's Avatar
      Hiekel Essterol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallasey LVWAL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Insanely slow speeds

      Todays 'before move' stats are:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 377 kbps 625 kbps
      Line Attenuation 55.0 db 33.3 db
      Noise Margin 8.2 db 10.5 db


      Todays new stats at the Master Socket
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 378 kbps 750 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54.0 db 32.5 db
      Noise Margin 8.8 db 9.5 db

      Stats at the Test Socket
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 378 kbps 753 kbps
      Line Attenuation 53.5 db 32.4 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 10.0 db

      Any thoughts?

      When I took off the frontplate of the Master Socket it has 2 sets of wires going into it. I am assuming these are the extension connections to the living room, which has the Sky+ connected through an ADSL filter, and to the hall. The hall connection is not being used at all.

    6. #15
      Hiekel Essterol's Avatar
      Hiekel Essterol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallasey LVWAL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Insanely slow speeds

      Todays numbers below

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 384 kbps 686 kbps
      Line Attenuation 53.5 db 32.5 db
      Noise Margin 13.1 db 10.5 db

    7. #16
      Hiekel Essterol's Avatar
      Hiekel Essterol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallasey LVWAL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Insanely slow speeds **UPDATED**

      Update time.

      Spoke to Sky who told me that there was a speed cap on the router of 368kbps. The guy from Sky then did 'something' and the speed doubled to over 750kbps. He then did something else and the speed went up again to about 1400kbps. He then asked me to try the Test Socket again, and the speed went up again to 2400kbps. This is a hell of a lot better than I was on.

      I had to reconnect the front of the main socket as the extension to the Sky+ wall plate runs through it. Connected the router back up to the front plate and the connection is back down to 1400kbps. Its still a hell of a lot higher than I had, but Im losing 1000kbps because of the front plate. Is this because the two extra wall plate connections run through the Master Socket faceplate and are doing something to the connection??

      Todays early numbers
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 384 kbps 686 kbps
      Line Attenuation 53.5 db 32.5 db
      Noise Margin 13.1 db 10.5 db

      Todays test socket numbers
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2441 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 8.4 db 13.0 db

      Todays current numbers
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1440 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 8.4 db 13.0 db

      The fella from Sky reckoned I should leave it plugged into the test socket, but this would mean that the other connections in the house wouldnt work including the one with the Sky+ connection in it.
      Last edited by Hiekel Essterol; 14-02-10 at 02:55 PM.

    8. #17
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Insanely slow speeds

      Yes, by using the test socket you isolate all the extra wiring and so get the best possible connection.

      You could fit a filtered faceplate to the master and this will allow you to still get the best connection but to also have the extra sockets in use.

      For now, you could fit the filter into the test socket, plug the faceplate into the phone side and the router into the router side, this will do the same thing but it looks a little messy, if there is not enough room, you could plug a second filter into the first to make access easier.

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Insanely slow speeds

      What you need to do is buy, fit and use a filtered faceplate, such as this - XTE-2005 Filtered Master Faceplate - ADSL Nation This will isolate your other extensions and give you the same speed as the Test socket. Your speed is still poor, but much better than you had.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      Hiekel Essterol's Avatar
      Hiekel Essterol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallasey LVWAL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Insanely slow speeds

      Thanks for the advice. Dont think plugging the faceplate into the filter (or multiple filters) will work as these are the filters that have been supplied by Sky rather than ones with wires on them.


    11. #20
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Insanely slow speeds

      Plug the router cable in first and then bend it 90 degrees, then fit the master faceplate to the phone side, it should just fit if your lucky, then plug the filter into the test socket.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION