Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    new sagem router.... sync

    This is a discussion on new sagem router.... sync within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi people, ive got a new sagem router, i just wanted to know why my sync has gone up, when ...

    1. #1
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Cool new sagem router.... sync

      hi people, ive got a new sagem router, i just wanted to know why my sync has gone up, when sky put a cap on the line and put me on G.DMT??

      it was 7616kbps max download sync with the DG934, now i have the sagem it goes past that, and gets 8000kbps everytime i sync in the morning/day, so why has the sync gone up ?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      pugwash's Avatar
      pugwash is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sedgley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Location
      Dudley
      Posts
      107
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: new sagem router.... sync

      hi well at peak hours normaly 4pm and after theres more people using the internet so the sync goes down due to more strain on the lines i dont quite know the tech talk but thats it in lame mans terms

    4. #3
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: new sagem router.... sync

      Quote Originally Posted by pugwash View Post
      hi well at peak hours normaly 4pm and after theres more people using the internet so the sync goes down due to more strain on the lines i dont quite know the tech talk but thats it in lame mans terms
      It's also wrong!!!

      You sync speed will be the maximum speed your router negotiates with the exchange, it has nothing to do with capacity or contention. Look at some of the Connect customers, they can get throuput speeds of only half a meg or less but their stats will still show a sync speed of 8mbps.

      Your throughput could alter if there was a capacity issue but your sync speed should always be the maximum it can get (depending on certain profile limits etc)

    5. #4
      pugwash's Avatar
      pugwash is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sedgley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Location
      Dudley
      Posts
      107
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: new sagem router.... sync

      woops was going bye what the sales man told me
      thanks for correcting me though

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: new sagem router.... sync

      The Sagem has a different chipset, so that may account for it.

      It is quite normal for the noise margin to fall in the evening due to there being more noise on the line. This is not due to more people on line, it has many different reasons.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: new sagem router.... sync

      The Sagem has a different chipset, so that may account for it.
      true

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION