Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Sky Line Testing

    This is a discussion on Sky Line Testing within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have been with sky unlimited 20mb broadband since wednesday the 3rd february, and my downstream and upstream have not ...

    1. #1
      NiallDavies's Avatar
      NiallDavies is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01928
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Line Testing

      I have been with sky unlimited 20mb broadband since wednesday the 3rd february, and my downstream and upstream have not changed one bit since the day the broadband was activated. does this mean they are not testing my line? ive been on to my sky and it doesnt give me any information on broadband usage or anything. the downstream is 4000 and up is 500 just wondering if this means they are testing my line or are just gonna keep me capped at 4000

      thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      DJ_Steve's Avatar
      DJ_Steve is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sunderland
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      Sunderland
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Line Testing

      i think skys site is useless as it says my line is not having any testign done yet it obviously is, so id be patient and wait it out for 10 days and if nothing then start complaining, also post up your stats as its possible you wont see any more speed due to line

    4. #3
      NiallDavies's Avatar
      NiallDavies is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01928
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Line Testing

      thanks for getting back to me, here are my stats

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 3050 4137 0 0 0 0:24:02
      LAN 39445 29305 0 0 0 3:07:18
      WLAN 0 0 0 0 0 3:06:50
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 510 kbps
      Line Attenuation 38.0 db 19.5 db
      Noise Margin 15.6 db 20.5 db

    5. #4
      DJ_Steve's Avatar
      DJ_Steve is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sunderland
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      Sunderland
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Line Testing

      looks like a capped line to me or something very wrong with your wiring

    6. #5
      NiallDavies's Avatar
      NiallDavies is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01928
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Line Testing

      isnt it normal for it to be at 4000 downstream after only 5 days of the broadband being activated ?? i dont know how the testing works or what my speed should go to. if im capped should i ring sky

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Line Testing

      The OP already has a thread running on this, I don't know why he has started another, he will not get different answers.

      Broadband speed !!!!

      As it started by asking a question on line testing I will not move it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      NiallDavies's Avatar
      NiallDavies is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01928
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Line Testing

      this is about the line testing i dont know whether they are actually testing my line or not wich they said they would be from day 1 but no change in stats so they obviously arent testing nothing

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION