Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 26

    Broadband speed !!!!

    This is a discussion on Broadband speed !!!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys i recently ordered sky broadband unlimited, i installed it and activated it on wednesday 3rd february. since then ...

    1. #1
      NiallDavies's Avatar
      NiallDavies is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01928
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Broadband speed !!!!

      Hi guys i recently ordered sky broadband unlimited, i installed it and activated it on wednesday 3rd february. since then my down stream has been 4095 and my up stream 510. i was just wondering when sky will up my down stream to 20000 which i am actually paying for instead of capping me at 4000. Also, i was wondering how the line exchange works, my number begins 01928 and i am roughly only a mile or so away from the exchange point, so what speeds will i actually be expecting to get when sky uncap me ? ill post my stats below. would like to thank anyone who gets back to me as im knew to this and wondered if anyone else has been in the same situation.


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 510 kbps
      Line Attenuation 38.0 db 19.5 db
      Noise Margin 14.8 db 20.5 db


      that is my statistics, when sky actually uncap me to the 20 mb im paying for what speeds will i be expected to get with them results ? as i really have very little knowledge on how to calculate the speed.

      Thank you to every who views this and gets back to me

      Niall


      This is the correct distance from my exchange

      Exchange: Runcorn East BT Code: LVRNE
      Location: Palace Fields Avenue WA7 6AF
      Distance:- Direct:
      0.36 mi
      (appx)* By Road:
      0.6 mi
      Last edited by NiallDavies; 08-02-10 at 12:21 AM. Reason: correct distance from exchange


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Broadband speed !!!!

      You're paying for an up to 20mbps service, depending totally on the line condition and length from your exchange. From your attenuation, you're not going to be pushing anywhere near to 20mb - I'd say 10-12mb is more realistic on a good line.

      Even so, at the moment there is too much noise on the line and even if sky uncapped you from 4096 to anything higher, you're not going to get to the 10-12mb I suggested. You're also going to be running through DLM at the moment, which is an up-to 10 day training period which will attempt to optimise the line.

      Plug into your test socket (link below) and re-post the stats from there.

      How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket

    4. #3
      MattB's Avatar
      MattB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bexleyheath
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband speed !!!!

      Aren't those noise stats alright though? Much higher than mine! (thought higher was better?).

      I'd have thought 10mb or so looks about right for the attenuation.

    5. #4
      NiallDavies's Avatar
      NiallDavies is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01928
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband speed !!!!

      just plugged it into the test socket and these are the stats i got,

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 286 415 0 0 0 0:00:43
      LAN 1007 805 0 0 0 0:01:53
      WLAN 0 0 0 0 0 0:01:26
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 510 kbps
      Line Attenuation 38.0 db 19.5 db
      Noise Margin 15.6 db 21.5 db

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Broadband speed !!!!

      Are you using only the cables supplied by Sky? No telephone extension. If you are, I am afraid you are going to be disappointed. If you are really that close to the exchange then the line must take a much longer route to your house, a bit under 3K I would guess, or your line has a serious fault.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      NiallDavies's Avatar
      NiallDavies is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01928
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband speed !!!!

      yes im using only cables supplied by sky. an open reach engineer is coming out on thursday to install a new phone line for sky talk if i use this new line for my broadband will i get better speeds. not forgetting sky are still optimising my line as ive only had it up and running for 6 days.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Broadband speed !!!!

      I did not think Sky would install a new line if you already have one, they would normally just take over your existing line. If they are, you would have to arrange to have your broadband transferred to the new line.

      It does not matter how much your line trains, it is not going to reduce your attenuation, which is the indicator of your line length and condition. If you are as close to the exchange as you indicate, you should have an attenuation in the the teens or even single figures. As things stand you will only get 8-10Mb.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      NiallDavies's Avatar
      NiallDavies is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01928
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband speed !!!!

      they couldnt take over the line so i had to cancel and order a new line they sent me a letter saying engineer coming out on thursday to install a new line. i am 0.36m from the exchange. so why as thing stand will i only get 8 to 10 when i should be gettin somnething in the teens.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Broadband speed !!!!

      As I said earlier, your attenuation is far too high if you are only a short way from the exchange. Your line either takes a long route or is faulty. I still don't understand how Sky have supplied you with broadband on a line they say they cannot take over.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      NiallDavies's Avatar
      NiallDavies is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01928
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband speed !!!!

      when i rang sky about sky talk they said they couldnt keep my phone number and would have to install a new line. but couple days before i rang them about sky talk i got my sky broadband. so on thursday the engineer is coming out to install a new line and give me a new number. its all confusing like, wish i would of got 50 mb virgin

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION