Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Shouldn't I be getting higher speeds?

    This is a discussion on Shouldn't I be getting higher speeds? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hello I've changed from the Sky Mid package to Unlimited about three weeks ago and I used to get 10mb ...

    1. #1
      Delboy89's Avatar
      Delboy89 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Location
      London
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Shouldn't I be getting higher speeds?

      hello

      I've changed from the Sky Mid package to Unlimited about three weeks ago and I used to get 10mb Down and about 570kb Up but now on unlimited im getting around 13mb Down and a lower 512kbps Up. Using the ADSL2 line checker i should be getting atleast more than 16mb down

      i would be very grateful if anyone can tell me if there is something I could do to get higher speeds, anyway here are my stats using the test socket

      Connection Speed 13309 kbps Down 512 kbps Up
      Line Attenuation 26 db 13 db
      Noise Margin 10 db 8 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Shouldn't I be getting higher speeds?

      remember, checkers are based on near-perfect lines and are no means a guarantee of speeds...

      having said that you should get a bit more so first thing is to plug into the test socket and repost stats...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Shouldn't I be getting higher speeds?

      Your low upload speed, especially with a low noise margin seems to indicate something is wrong. Do you have filters properly fitted to all the phone sockets in use? Are you using a plug in telephone extension to connect the router?

      As suggested plug into the Test socket using nothing but the supplied cables and filter. Check when the faceplate is removed that all the telephone sockets are dead.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Delboy89's Avatar
      Delboy89 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Location
      London
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Shouldn't I be getting higher speeds?

      those stats are from my test socket, and my filter is plugged in directly no extensions.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Shouldn't I be getting higher speeds?

      those stats are from my test socket
      Using nothing but the supplied cables? Try another filter.

      Looks like you have edited it. Try different filters. Are your other sockets dead?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Delboy89's Avatar
      Delboy89 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Location
      London
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Shouldn't I be getting higher speeds?

      These are my stats using a new filter


      Connection Speed 13309 kbps 550 kbps
      Line Attenuation 26 db 13 db
      Noise Margin 11 db 8 db

      I don't have any other sockets in my house.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Shouldn't I be getting higher speeds?

      It looks like you may have a fault on your external line or a faulty router. Looking back at your first post you should have had an upload speed of 606kbps before you upgraded, so something was wrong even then. If you phoned Sky, you could possibly get 1+Mbs on your download but your upload looks like you have as much as you can get.

      Is your voice line quiet, with no bad noises? Would you have another router you could try?

      Do you have phone Rental with Sky?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      Delboy89's Avatar
      Delboy89 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Location
      London
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Shouldn't I be getting higher speeds?

      There are no sounds in the background when im trying to make calls and I do have another Sky Sagem router from Sky but its faulty, I pay my line rental to BT but im on sky talk unlimited.

      Ill try calling Sky in a minute to see what they have to say

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION