Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Am I on Unlimited?

    This is a discussion on Am I on Unlimited? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi I bought Sky broadband a year ago when it was called 'Max' with 16Mbps connection. I live very close ...

    1. #1
      Paul N's Avatar
      Paul N is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Am I on Unlimited?

      Hi

      I bought Sky broadband a year ago when it was called 'Max' with 16Mbps connection. I live very close to my exchange so got the full speed 15-16Mbps. Several months ago I got an email telling me I am now on Unlimited with speeds up to 20Mbps. When I log in to MySky it tells me I have Unlimited. But I haven't had any speed upgrade from a year ago.

      My stats as of today are as follows:

      Router:
      Downstream: 17021 kbps
      Upstream: 1048 kbps
      Line Att: 11db downstream, 8db upstream
      Noise: 10db downstream, 8 db upstream

      Speedtest:
      Download: 15 Mbps
      Upload: 0.82 Mbps
      Ping: 26ms

      I think the upload speed has increased since a year ago back on 'Max', but that download hasn't changed, and if anything has got slightly slower.

      Should I be getting a faster speed?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Am I on Unlimited?

      yes you are...

      Downstream: 17021 kbps - higher than 16Mbps...
      Upstream: 1048 kbps - higher than 768kbps...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Am I on Unlimited?

      Your download/upload shows you are on Unlimited and you should be able to get pretty near 20Mb. Check your internal set up by plugging the router directly into the Test socket, link below, using only the supplied cables and filter and post your stats from there.
      Last edited by Isitme; 02-02-10 at 01:39 PM.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Paul N's Avatar
      Paul N is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Am I on Unlimited?

      Okay, I'm doing that right now and get these stats:

      Downstream: 17021 kbps
      Upstream: 1055 kbps
      Line Att: 10db downstream, 3db upstream
      Noise: 11db downstream, 8 db upstream

      Thanks

      P.S. I have a wall socket, so I've taken off the face plate and used a telephone line to connect right into the socket there. No filters. Is that right?

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Am I on Unlimited?

      Deleted

      You will have to use a filter to reduce the phone socket to RJ11, on the router cable.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Paul N's Avatar
      Paul N is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Am I on Unlimited?

      I used a rj11 to phone socket adaptor like this:
      http://www.solentcables.co.uk/ebaypi...2209001697.jpg

      Must have worked to get the connection at all wouldn't it?

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Am I on Unlimited?

      is that what you always use? if so, that'll be hindering connection. You should be using the filter included in the box with your router to plug your router into the phone socket. you then use other filters on any other phone sockets in use to stop the phones interferring with your router...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      Paul N's Avatar
      Paul N is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Am I on Unlimited?

      No I don't use that. Only used the adpator to connect to the master socket with the face plate off. I have an ADSL Nation filtered face plate that fits over the master socket. Telephone out of one port, ADSL line to router out the other.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Am I on Unlimited?

      I used a rj11 to phone socket adaptor like this:
      That is much the same as using a filter. You can't do much better than use a filtered faceplate. You have a bit of noise margin to spare, so you could ask Sky if they can raise the cap a bit. DLM will have run on your line and it may have left it a bit slower than it need be.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION