Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    ADSL2+ How to find out?

    This is a discussion on ADSL2+ How to find out? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Guys, I have been browsing the forum for similar posts but have only found answers stating a yes or ...

    1. #1
      Jj Carnon's Avatar
      Jj Carnon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Falmouth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      ADSL2+ How to find out?

      Hi Guys,

      I have been browsing the forum for similar posts but have only found answers stating a yes or no response. (i.e. Am I on ADSL2+, Yes).

      How can I (me) tell whether I am on ADSL2+, is it listed anywhere on the Sky router?

      Regards

      Jj


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: ADSL2+ How to find out?

      it's down to how the stats are displayed. Sky use (by default) figures of 416, 608, 768kbps for the upstream and on G.DMT they'll show as such. But on ADSL2+ they'll show 1 or 2 kbps below the configured speed...same for downstream...

      Going by your last post you're on G.DMT...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      narl's Avatar
      narl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      143
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ADSL2+ How to find out?

      Sky also use 1024 and 1312 for the upstream now. Dot dot dot ...

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: ADSL2+ How to find out?

      well, it can be anything but good to know some rough figures...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      narl's Avatar
      narl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      143
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ADSL2+ How to find out?

      Coul be anything as you know adsl2+ usually chucks the line to an odd number, where as g.dmt sets it to an even number, well, most of the time.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: ADSL2+ How to find out?

      where as g.dmt sets it to an even number, well, most of the time.
      Isn't the G.DMT figure usually dividable by 32?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: ADSL2+ How to find out?

      think so, put in 1000kbps and it'll come in at 992kbps...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION