Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 30

    Upgrading to sky Broadband unlimited help.

    This is a discussion on Upgrading to sky Broadband unlimited help. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, For the last 3 months we have been on the rubbish sky everyday package with the stupid 10gb allowance ...

    1. #1
      L14M333's Avatar
      L14M333 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01376, Witham, Essex, UK
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Upgrading to sky Broadband unlimited help.

      Hello, For the last 3 months we have been on the rubbish sky everyday package with the stupid 10gb allowance and 10mb/s speeds, we've been getting 6mb/s average downloads and 0.40mb/s upload from it but we've just been upgraded (last Night) to the unlimited package as it was the 3rd month i've been over, That im happy with but at the moment my internets been a bit slow so i did a speedtest, now i am getting different results like 4.5mb/s down and 0.60mb/s up, or 7mb/s down and 0.60mb/s up, is this because of line testing so i can get the best or is this a problem?

      Thanks

      Liam


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Upgrading to sky Broadband unlimited help.

      If you have just upgraded, DLM will be running and your speed will fluctuate. Post your stats for more advice.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      L14M333's Avatar
      L14M333 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01376, Witham, Essex, UK
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgrading to sky Broadband unlimited help.

      Hello, Must be that then, sorry i cant get any stats from the router as its my dad who deals with that and he has passwords so i cant get into it but ill wait it out a couple days to see what happens.

      Thanks

      Liam

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Upgrading to sky Broadband unlimited help.

      If you were not already maxing out the 10mb speed of the everyday package then chances are you will not get any more speed. Router stats will confirm this.

    6. #5
      L14M333's Avatar
      L14M333 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01376, Witham, Essex, UK
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgrading to sky Broadband unlimited help.

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      If you were not already maxing out the 10mb speed of the everyday package then chances are you will not get any more speed. Router stats will confirm this.
      Hello. im abit new to all the router stuff, my dad has some other router what he has to have for work, Hes away all week so i cant get into its settings, are there other ways to get these settings, i do have the Netgear router sky sent what i hook up and get the stats from but if im having some sort of testing i dont really want to unplug the existing router. So if you can get them by a program or anything it would be good but as i said my speed test results are fed up atm and keep changing

      http://www.speedtest.net/result/702196172.png
      http://www.speedtest.net/result/702207114.png
      sometimes its normal, sometimes its like these

      Thanks

      Liam
      Last edited by L14M333; 19-02-10 at 09:47 PM.

    7. #6
      narl's Avatar
      narl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      143
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgrading to sky Broadband unlimited help.

      Your line has been capped by DLM, if you have only went active keep the router plugged in and turned on for 10 days, if you still have slow speeds after 10 days then call sky and get through to CST and they will uncap the line for you.

      Just make sure you have the router plugged into the main bt socket in the home, not an extension lead or an extension socket as raising the speeds will get make the connection unstable if you do try to use an extension.

    8. #7
      L14M333's Avatar
      L14M333 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01376, Witham, Essex, UK
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgrading to sky Broadband unlimited help.

      Quote Originally Posted by narl View Post
      Your line has been capped by DLM, if you have only went active keep the router plugged in and turned on for 10 days, if you still have slow speeds after 10 days then call sky and get through to CST and they will uncap the line for you.

      Just make sure you have the router plugged into the main bt socket in the home, not an extension lead or an extension socket as raising the speeds will get make the connection unstable if you do try to use an extension.
      Right , cheers... What would the effect of me downlaoding and streaming high quality stuff from skyplayer and iplayer and playing my xbox do to my connection if there still testing or whatever? will it give me false speeds later on?

      sorry if i sound confusing

      Thanks

      Liam

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Upgrading to sky Broadband unlimited help.

      Your speeds are, to say the least, pathetic. I doubt if it would do much harm to plug in the sky router and take the stats, then put the other router back in.. How to get your router statistics

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      L14M333's Avatar
      L14M333 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01376, Witham, Essex, UK
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgrading to sky Broadband unlimited help.

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Your speeds are, to say the least, pathetic. I doubt if it would do much harm to plug in the sky router and take the stats, then put the other router back in.. How to get your router statistics
      Right, i've just attached my stats, i havent a clue on if there good or not and also i noticed that i had an old microfilter plugged in so i changed it with a new one from sky, but my speeds haven't changed so im goin to plug my other router back in and leave it 10 days and see what happens. as i said please can someone tell me if my stats are good or not. Thanks

      Liam
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Upgrading to sky Broadband unlimited help.-screen-shot-2010-02-02-16.17.19.jpg  

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Upgrading to sky Broadband unlimited help.

      they show you can get a lot more speed wise as you're capped...probably a good 2-3Mbps more to be had there...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION