Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 30

    Upgrading to sky Broadband unlimited help.

    This is a discussion on Upgrading to sky Broadband unlimited help. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy they show you can get a lot more speed wise as you're capped...probably a good 2-3Mbps ...

    1. #11
      L14M333's Avatar
      L14M333 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01376, Witham, Essex, UK
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgrading to sky Broadband unlimited help.

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      they show you can get a lot more speed wise as you're capped...probably a good 2-3Mbps more to be had there...
      Hello, Cheers for that... so should i wait it out 10 days and if no improvement call or call now?

      Thanks

      Liam


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Upgrading to sky Broadband unlimited help.

      Try a speedtest on Sky User - Broadband Speed Tester see what you get. You should be getting about 8Mb with a wired connection, it could be much less with wireless.

      You can try phoning, but if you are not the account holder, they may not even speak to you.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      L14M333's Avatar
      L14M333 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01376, Witham, Essex, UK
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgrading to sky Broadband unlimited help.

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Try a speedtest on Sky User - Broadband Speed Tester see what you get. You should be getting about 8Mb with a wired connection, it could be much less with wireless.

      You can try phoning, but if you are not the account holder, they may not even speak to you.
      Ahhhhh just realised, im on wifi... ill take my mac downstairs and have a look to see what it is, will post results

      Thanks

      Liam

    5. #14
      L14M333's Avatar
      L14M333 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01376, Witham, Essex, UK
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgrading to sky Broadband unlimited help.

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Try a speedtest on Sky User - Broadband Speed Tester see what you get. You should be getting about 8Mb with a wired connection, it could be much less with wireless.

      You can try phoning, but if you are not the account holder, they may not even speak to you.
      Hello, just hooked it up via cable,
      no change on speedtest.net: http://www.speedtest.net/result/703329884.png

      results from the sky user checker are in the pic
      Top test is the ethernet one and the bottom one is via wifi

      thanks

      Liam

    6. #15
      L14M333's Avatar
      L14M333 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01376, Witham, Essex, UK
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgrading to sky Broadband unlimited help.

      Sorry forgot to upload.

      Thanks

      Liam
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Upgrading to sky Broadband unlimited help.-screen-shot-2010-02-02-16.52.22.jpg  

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Upgrading to sky Broadband unlimited help.

      Hello, just hooked it up via cable,
      no change on speedtest.net
      Only about 10 times faster than this!!!!
      http://www.speedtest.net/result/702207114.png

      Not as fast as it should be but I can't help you with a Mac I'm afraid.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      L14M333's Avatar
      L14M333 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01376, Witham, Essex, UK
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgrading to sky Broadband unlimited help.

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Only about 10 times faster than this!!!!
      http://www.speedtest.net/result/702207114.png

      Not as fast as it should be but I can't help you with a Mac I'm afraid.
      i have windows in a virtual machine or a xp laptop?

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Upgrading to sky Broadband unlimited help.

      Have you tried a speedtest with the XP laptop? XP can usually be improved by using TCPOptimiser, link below, to tweak the settings. Just use the optimum settings for a start. I don't know about running it virtually, it may work, I just couldn't say for sure.

      DrTCP, link below can also be used but requires a bit more user input.

      You could get an extra couple of Mbs with a manual configure, but if you can manage it plug into the test socket first, link below, and take your stats. This will show you what your line is really capable of.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      L14M333's Avatar
      L14M333 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01376, Witham, Essex, UK
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgrading to sky Broadband unlimited help.

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You could get an extra couple of Mbs with a manual configure, but if you can manage it plug into the test socket first, link below, and take your stats. This will show you what your line is really capable of.
      Hi, I will go try the test socket in a second but first (sorry im abut of a noobie) what exactly does it do and if it gives me a better connection can i leave it in there?

      Liam

    11. #20
      L14M333's Avatar
      L14M333 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01376, Witham, Essex, UK
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgrading to sky Broadband unlimited help.

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Have you tried a speedtest with the XP laptop? XP can usually be improved by using TCPOptimiser, link below, to tweak the settings. Just use the optimum settings for a start. I don't know about running it virtually, it may work, I just couldn't say for sure.

      DrTCP, link below can also be used but requires a bit more user input.

      You could get an extra couple of Mbs with a manual configure, but if you can manage it plug into the test socket first, link below, and take your stats. This will show you what your line is really capable of.
      Hello stats are below.

      Thanks for the help


      Liam.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Upgrading to sky Broadband unlimited help.-screen-shot-2010-02-02-21.48.35.jpg  

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION