Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Just been activated, what speeds to expect?

    This is a discussion on Just been activated, what speeds to expect? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've just migrated from IDNet (so sorry to leave, just too expensive to justify) to Sky's Unlimited package. On IDnet, ...

    1. #1
      merkin51's Avatar
      merkin51 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just been activated, what speeds to expect?

      I've just migrated from IDNet (so sorry to leave, just too expensive to justify) to Sky's Unlimited package. On IDnet, I used to get around 10mbps down at 1mbps up. Here are my Sky Router stats having only been activated about 20 mins ago:

      Connection Speed: 4095 kbps / 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation: 24.0 db / 0.5 db
      Noise Margin: 12.9 db / 20.1 db

      Obviously it's early days and as I understand it these speeds will change during a bedding in period. Just a few questions, how long until the final speed is determined? Also, what sort of speed should I expect with those stats?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just been activated, what speeds to expect?

      Quote Originally Posted by merkin51 View Post
      I've just migrated from IDNet (so sorry to leave, just too expensive to justify) to Sky's Unlimited package. On IDnet, I used to get around 10mbps down at 1mbps up. Here are my Sky Router stats having only been activated about 20 mins ago:

      Connection Speed: 4095 kbps / 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation: 24.0 db / 0.5 db
      Noise Margin: 12.9 db / 20.1 db

      Obviously it's early days and as I understand it these speeds will change during a bedding in period. Just a few questions, how long until the final speed is determined? Also, what sort of speed should I expect with those stats?
      With that attenuation of 24db you should see aleast 16Mb, you say you had 10Mb before. Using a microfilter connect to the test socket and repost your stats you have noise on line, your noise margin should be in the high 20's aleast. Link below in my sig with the link and further details.

    4. #3
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Just been activated, what speeds to expect?

      merkin51
      Hi your line will be monitered for 10 days with Sky`s DLM (Dynamic Line Management) at the beginning speed starts about 4MBs Downstream so let the DLM do its job and post result if you think you have a problem.

      Andy17
      Hi have you read
      On IDnet, I used to get around 10mbps down at 1mbps up.
      and
      Sky Router stats having only been activated about 20 mins ago:

    5. #4
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just been activated, what speeds to expect?

      steve leaving DLM to complete isnt going to do anything with that noise margin merkin is not going to see 10mb, as andy said for your attenuation the noise margin should be alot higher and you need to repost your stats from the test socket(details in signature)

    6. #5
      merkin51's Avatar
      merkin51 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just been activated, what speeds to expect?

      Thanks chaps. When you connect to the test socket, do you still need to use the microfilter? When I connected straight in, the router wouldn't connect. Connected fine with a filter. Anyway, here's the stats I get when connected router -> microfilter -> test socket:

      Connection Speed: 16381 kbps / 945 kbps
      Line Attenuation: 23.5 db / 10.4 db
      Noise Margin: 7.4 db / 15.7 db

      Obviously Sky have bumped the speed up to 16mbps. Worrying, the noise margin has got even worse. So should I assume now that I have something wrong with my line, if this is what the test socket is pumping out? How do I go about getting this sorted?

      *edit* also, my router is the standard Sagem F@ST one, not the DG834GT that was in my profile. I still have the netgear so can swap over if they're considered better... *edit*

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Just been activated, what speeds to expect?

      No, your noise margin is OK, it is exactly what it should be with your higher sync speed. If you have wired in phone extensions you would benefit from fitting a filtered faceplate.

      You don't really need a filter when you plug the router into the test socket, but if you use the supplied cable the plug will not fit properly, all the filter is doing is converting the RJ11 plug to a standard telephone.

      There is not a lot of difference between the routers. You could try the Netgear if you want, they are said to have a better wireless performance and they can be 'hacked' easier.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION