Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 25

    ADSL2+ Help?

    This is a discussion on ADSL2+ Help? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I am almost certain my exchange has been upgraded to allow for ADSL2+ connections (see attachment). I am currently ...

    1. #1
      Jj Carnon's Avatar
      Jj Carnon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Falmouth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      ADSL2+ Help?

      Hi,

      I am almost certain my exchange has been upgraded to allow for ADSL2+ connections (see attachment).

      I am currently on the Everyday package and suffering with 2Mb download speeds even though I am *roughly* 1.05KM from the exchange (source:samknows).

      According to the image in the attachment Sky Max is an ADSL2+ product, and is available from my exchange? Is this correct?

      Can I sign up to Sky Max benefit from a faster ADSL2+ connection or is all of this a lie.

      Any help would be massively appreciated!

      Jamie
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails ADSL2+ Help?-untitled.jpg  


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: ADSL2+ Help?

      Highly depends on your attenuation; if you post up your stats (link below), then someone shall chime in with an estimate to what your line should be able to handle. As for me, I gotta run to work!

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view-routerstats.html

    4. #3
      Jj Carnon's Avatar
      Jj Carnon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Falmouth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ADSL2+ Help?

      Hi Gys,

      Sorry for the delay. Here are my stats as of 17:10 (19.01.2010).
      What do you think? Plus, is the Max product actually ADSL2+?

      Regards

      Jamie
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails ADSL2+ Help?-router-stats.jpg  

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: ADSL2+ Help?

      you're on ADSL2+ already...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: ADSL2+ Help?

      You are on the right package but you must have quite a lot of noise on your line, you need to get the stats again but this time with the router connected to the TEST socket (see quick links on the left for details)

    7. #6
      Jj Carnon's Avatar
      Jj Carnon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Falmouth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ADSL2+ Help?

      Hi,

      I am afraid to say I do not have a test socket. I have avery strange telephone point in my place (it's a flat). I will post a picture when I get home. I have asked a someone in the same building what speeds they are getting on their line, 7.5Mb/s!

      I am really getting frustrated with the performance on my line. Can anyone help?

      Jamie

    8. #7
      Jj Carnon's Avatar
      Jj Carnon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Falmouth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ADSL2+ Help?

      See Pics:-

      Jamie
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails ADSL2+ Help?-telephone-point.jpg   ADSL2+ Help?-telephone-point-2.jpg  

    9. #8
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: ADSL2+ Help?

      Is that the only socket or are there more? you need to trace the one that is connected to the line first.

      Also, when you remove it, is there any wires in terminal 3? if so remove them.

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: ADSL2+ Help?

      that looks like an LJU master just stuck to the back of the faceplate so chances are it is the master...whether it's the true master is another matter as it might be similar to how my flat is wired up...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: ADSL2+ Help?

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      that looks like an LJU master just stuck to the back of the faceplate so chances are it is the master...whether it's the true master is another matter as it might be similar to how my flat is wired up...
      Let's hope not, you still haven't found yours yet!!!

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION