Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Paying for 20mb - Told my line can only handle 4mb

    This is a discussion on Paying for 20mb - Told my line can only handle 4mb within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Uhhhh I just moved house and had a fantastic connection with Virgin 20mb and it was amazing. Now I am ...

    1. #1
      Anxiety86's Avatar
      Anxiety86 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Paying for 20mb - Told my line can only handle 4mb

      Uhhhh I just moved house and had a fantastic connection with Virgin 20mb and it was amazing. Now I am in a new place and couldn't have virgin so I decided to try sky. Once I ordered all my stuff they then tell me my line can only support 4mb! IS there anything I can do or upgrade on my line to make it so I can get max speed?

      It's like going from a Bugatti to a Metro. I am really not happy with this service.

      Anything I can do?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Paying for 20mb - Told my line can only handle 4mb

      If you have a router, post the router stats, Sky's estimation can be miles out but without stats we cannot be sure.

    4. #3
      Aeschylus's Avatar
      Aeschylus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: King's Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Paying for 20mb - Told my line can only handle 4mb

      Dont panic, they told me 4mb I am currently sitting at 18840..... they always say 4mb

      have you gone to bt whole sale website?

    5. #4
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Paying for 20mb - Told my line can only handle 4mb

      Quote Originally Posted by Anxiety86 View Post
      I am really not happy with this service.
      You're paying for an up to 20mbps service, and it is not sky's responsibility to as how far you are from your exchange and the quality of your telephone line. If sky are supplying dsl down your telephone line, then they're providing the service.

      In saying that, Sky's dsl checks are quite conservative most times and you may be able to push out more, but you won't know until we see router stats when you're moved to sky bb.

    6. #5
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Paying for 20mb - Told my line can only handle 4mb

      The package isn't just about line speed it's also about Bandwidth allocation. You are genuinely unlimited on Bandwidth and as everyone says 'lets see your stats'.

    7. #6
      Anxiety86's Avatar
      Anxiety86 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Paying for 20mb - Told my line can only handle 4mb

      How do I get my stats guys?

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Paying for 20mb - Told my line can only handle 4mb





      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #8
      Anxiety86's Avatar
      Anxiety86 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Paying for 20mb - Told my line can only handle 4mb

      Thanks Newsreader.

      Is this what you guys was looking for?

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version 7.03.01.66
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 5019 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 792 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

    10. #9
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Paying for 20mb - Told my line can only handle 4mb

      No, look at the bottom of the router page, you will see a button called show statistics or similar, click it and post the results. They should look like this:-

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 18639 kbps 980 kbps
      Line Attenuation 22.5 db 12.3 db
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 8.0 db

    11. #10
      Anxiety86's Avatar
      Anxiety86 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Paying for 20mb - Told my line can only handle 4mb

      OkI got this...

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5019 kbps 792 kbps
      Line Attenuation 45 db 25 db
      Noise Margin 13 db 2147483647 db

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION