Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Ethernet Router Connection Error

    This is a discussion on Ethernet Router Connection Error within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am trying to set up my in-laws new sky router and cannot get the ethernet connection to work. The ...

    1. #1
      watsod's Avatar
      watsod is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01726
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ethernet Router Connection Error

      I am trying to set up my in-laws new sky router and cannot get the ethernet connection to work. The light just keeps flashing slowly and I get a Network Cable Unplugged error message. I have disabled, reinstalled the ethernet, used a different cable but I cannot get it to connect. I hav changed the IP in the browser too.

      The wireless works though cos my Ipod picks it up. The PC is running Vista Home.

      Any futher suggestions most welcome before I just buy them a wireless adapter....


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dsldude's Avatar
      dsldude is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      295
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Ethernet Router Connection Error

      Loop the ethernet cable so both ends are conected to the router, if you dont get 2 green ethernet lights that match the ports your using its ether the cable or the router at fault

    4. #3
      watsod's Avatar
      watsod is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01726
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Router Connection Error

      HI - tried that. 2 lovely lights!! So the router and cable are fine, and it must be something with the PC but I am stumped as to what it is!

    5. #4
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Router Connection Error

      Open cmd (start > accessories > right click command prompt and run as administrator)

      Ping 127.0.0.1 - I assume 0% loss?

      When you say you changed the ip in the browser, do you mean you configured the ipv4 settings for the ethernet NIC? If so, what values did you put in for ip address & default gateway?

    6. #5
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Router Connection Error

      Right click "Computer" and click on manage or use the start search bar to find and go to device manager. Odds are the ethernet adaptor is not enabled or not installed (look for a yellow or red symbol).

    7. #6
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Router Connection Error

      security programs can cause the ethernet to stop working, i remember when zonelarm and outpost firewall wud kill my ethernet completely a few years ago....

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION