Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Permanent loss of connection (V1 router)

    This is a discussion on Permanent loss of connection (V1 router) within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Suddenly today my parents' router stopped connecting to Sky Unlimited, and it still hasn't come back. I've been through some ...

    1. #1
      CompactDestruction's Avatar
      CompactDestruction is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dewsbury
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Permanent loss of connection (V1 router)

      Suddenly today my parents' router stopped connecting to Sky Unlimited, and it still hasn't come back. I've been through some basic troubleshooting like plugging router through a filter into the master socket and unplugging everything else but still nothing. Plugging the phone into the socket with no filter gives a normal dial tone, no funny noises like you'd expect (?).

      They called Sky but CS aren't happy they aren't using the cable that came in the box to connect the phone line to the router. It's been working fine for years and I think this is a load of guff of course, but they're getting another cable shipped to them because they've lost the old box.

      Then if that doesn't work they have to send an engineer who may arbitrarily decide the problem is on their end and charge a fee. What can they try next?

      On Wireless On A 11500kbps Line


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Permanent loss of connection (V1 router)

      Moved as per OP's request.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Permanent loss of connection (V1 router)

      Quote Originally Posted by CompactDestruction View Post
      Plugging the phone into the socket with no filter gives a normal dial tone, no funny noises like you'd expect (?).
      I assume the internet light ('i' light) is completely off? Does the landline have any static/crackle/pops and such whilst the bb is plugged in?

      Quote Originally Posted by CompactDestruction View Post
      They called Sky but CS aren't happy they aren't using the cable that came in the box to connect the phone line to the router. It's been working fine for years and I think this is a load of guff of course, but they're getting another cable shipped to them because they've lost the old box.
      Well, if you're using any extension cables then the agent is right. Also, if you have the aforementioned symptom of a noisy line whilst the bb is plugged in, then you may find a new adsl cable will sort it.

      I assume sky sent a series of recurring beeps down your line whilst on the phone which you heard? Or did you not hear these when asked?

      If you have another sky router you could borrow off a mate or relative to test that out, then that could at least rule out a router issue whilst waiting.

    5. #4
      CompactDestruction's Avatar
      CompactDestruction is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dewsbury
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Permanent loss of connection (V1 router)

      No noise/crackle/static on line when BB plugged in. Beeps test not done. And the light is completely off on the router.

      On Wireless On A 11500kbps Line

    6. #5
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Permanent loss of connection (V1 router)

      Quote Originally Posted by CompactDestruction View Post
      No noise/crackle/static on line when BB plugged in. Beeps test not done. And the light is completely off on the router.
      Ok, did you get through to sky's customer solutions team? (i.e. passed onto another tier with a ticket number)

      If you plug in a new microfilter into your test socket (by unscrewing your master socket faceplate off) with the dsl cable you usually use, then you're still getting no internet light? Chances are that if you do use an extension cable, and not the dsl cable as provided by sky, then that's where the problem is coming from. Only other thing you could do whilst waiting is to ring up sky and get them to do a 'tone test'. If you can hear it, then wait until you receive the new dsl cable and if you can't hear it, then it needs an engineer booked and there's nothing you, yourself, can do to fix it.

      Edit: Also, whilst waiting on the dsl cable - if you can get your hands on another router and see if the internet light syncs in so you can confirm a router fault.

    7. #6
      CompactDestruction's Avatar
      CompactDestruction is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dewsbury
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Permanent loss of connection (V1 router)

      Yeah I forgot to mention, they have no test socket. Their main socket is a double head with nothing underneath.

      I'll see about the tone test and alternative router.

      On Wireless On A 11500kbps Line

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Permanent loss of connection (V1 router)

      What do you mean by double head? if it is a twin splitter, you need to remove this and fit a filter before it.

    9. #8
      CompactDestruction's Avatar
      CompactDestruction is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dewsbury
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Permanent loss of connection (V1 router)

      No, only one is active. I think the previous occupants had a second line.

      On Wireless On A 11500kbps Line

    10. #9
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Permanent loss of connection (V1 router)

      Take a picture of it, if you can also from the rear showing the wiring etc.

    11. #10
      CompactDestruction's Avatar
      CompactDestruction is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dewsbury
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Permanent loss of connection (V1 router)

      It looks like this

      On Wireless On A 11500kbps Line

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION