Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Stuck and Confused

    This is a discussion on Stuck and Confused within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I could really do with some assistance on my next step... I am currently getting 19mb, my line does go ...

    1. #1
      Aeschylus's Avatar
      Aeschylus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: King's Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Stuck and Confused

      I could really do with some assistance on my next step...

      I am currently getting 19mb, my line does go down once or twice a day, my problem is my SNR Upstream sits at 1DB. in the evening it goes down to 0DB

      Phoned tier 1 and after many attempts he said it was a line fault, I agree with him, however 5 days later I have just had tier 2 call me to say, they wont send an engineer out as it is not a broadband fault, it is an internal wiring issue, I explained that it is a brand new line, only 1 master socket etc, but he would not budge, he sais my line had just been up for 22 hours and that is enough for him to say there is not a broadband fault.. he said all an engineer would do is charge me 144 and reduce my line speed, I explained to him that at 8MB it was still at 1DB, so it was not a line speed issue, but he just did not offer anymore advice

      The only thing he suggested was to ring Sky Talk, but he reckons because the line test shows no fault they wont be much help either...

      out of test socket settings remain the same, I ordered a ADSL nation face plate, and it actually makes it a lot worse, my broadband kept dropping out and I synched lower than I do through a standard filter. you would of hoped an ADSL nation faceplate might of helped not make it worse

      What is even weirder is when I am on the phone my Upstream sits at 8DB... however when I hang up the phone, my BB always drops out and has to re-sync

      I am at a complete loss, do I just accept it? as technically my broadband is fine, though I never get more than 800kpbs uploading...

      Really could do with some advice/help guys.

      my test socket settings are
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 18940 kbps 759 kbps
      Line Attenuation 22 db 10 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 1 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Stuck and Confused

      Now post a set of stats from the normal socket for comparison. Have you only got one socket in total on the line?

    4. #3
      Aeschylus's Avatar
      Aeschylus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: King's Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stuck and Confused

      yep, 1 brand new line, they even ripped out the old one, went from telegraph pole, so you could not get more new..

      Stats from normal socket

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 18940 kbps 759 kbps
      Line Attenuation 22 db 10 db
      Noise Margin 4 db 1 db

    5. #4
      Rahat786786's Avatar
      Rahat786786 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ilford
      Broadband ISP: O2 Broadband
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stuck and Confused

      Is your phone corded or wireless? Connect just the filter and broadband to the socket without a telephone and post the stats.

      I had a similar issue but it just went away over time...

    6. #5
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Stuck and Confused

      Don't suppose you have another router you can test with?

    7. #6
      Aeschylus's Avatar
      Aeschylus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: King's Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stuck and Confused

      Tested with another router, when the tech guy was on phone, still the same problem, also gets weirder, I have just unpugged my phone, and turned it off, and my internet drops out every 5 mins now..

      here are my settings with phone switched off. improved my upstream, but has kileed my intenet. I am at a complete loss

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 18798 kbps 1087 kbps
      Line Attenuation 22 db 10 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 0 db

    8. #7
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Stuck and Confused

      Were these Sky talk line rental techs? If your line is doing that then there is a fault and openreach need to go and do a full line diagnostic.

    9. #8
      Aeschylus's Avatar
      Aeschylus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: King's Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stuck and Confused

      no broadband techs, who have now closed the call as they reckon nothing wrong, he said I could ring sky talk, but he felt they would say nothing wrong... he then said openreach will just slow my line down until that noise improves etc..

      do you think I should call them, as it can not be right surely

      but like you say can not be right, now phone is plugged back in I get

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 18940 kbps 752 kbps
      Line Attenuation 22 db 10 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 1 db

    10. #9
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Stuck and Confused

      It's a fault on the line but needs someone who understands line faults to sort it out. You need to get a line fault ticket open for openreach to come in but you will need to follow all troubleshooting first and make sure nothing at all is attached to the line that can impact it so that they cannot say it's CPE and charge you.
      I take it you don't have a burglar alarm or anything like a personal medic alert system on the line? If not and you have investigated the situation with new filters (with and without phone on the line) and it's still doing it I would advise going to Sky talk (if they hold your line rental) and get them to sort it out.

    11. #10
      Aeschylus's Avatar
      Aeschylus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: King's Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stuck and Confused

      I tried everything mate, different filters make it worse (which is even weirder), as I said earlier ADSL nation faceplate kills my broadband completely, and the noise drops right down to 0DB..

      it is simply 1 line into house, fitted on 23rd dec, from telegraph pole, brand new faceplate etc

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION