Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Upgrade from "Everyday" to "Unlimited"

    This is a discussion on Upgrade from "Everyday" to "Unlimited" within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys, I've been a Sky BB , TV, and Talk customer for nearly two years and have been fairly ...

    1. #1
      freshman's Avatar
      freshman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCFOM
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Upgrade from "Everyday" to "Unlimited"

      Hi guys,

      I've been a Sky BB, TV, and Talk customer for nearly two years and have been fairly satisfied with the service. Since the cap on "Mid" BB was dropped to 10GB per month I've nearly hit it every month, so when I got a leaflet through the door offering me 6 months free broadband if I upgrade to "Unlimited", I went for it and applied online last night.

      Until now I've always had my router plugged into an extension socket BT installed in my living room, and below are my typical router stats:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8188kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 18 db 8 db
      Noise Margin 15 db 23 db


      Speedtest.net shows 6.97 Mb/s up and 0.50 Mb/s down.

      So I figured if I'm now supposedly entitled to speeds of up to 20Mb/s, and Sky will presumably be testing my line to see how fast it can handle, as I live around 500 yards from my exchange, I should be able to improve my speed by following some of the tutorials on this site.

      I duly took my router up to the bedroom where the master socket is, and plugged into the test socket, where I got the following stats:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8188kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 17 db 8 db
      Noise Margin 21 db 23 db


      Speedtest.net showed 7.04 Mb/s down and 0.52 Mb/s up.

      Putting the faceplate back and plugging directly into the master socket gives me the following stats:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8188kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 19 db 8 db
      Noise Margin 16 db 23 db


      Speedtest.net showed 7.03 Mb/s down and 0.51 Mb/s up.

      Although there's not a great difference in speed, the noise margin and attenuation show a variance, so I've left the router plugged into the test socket and plugged my cordless phone back in, using the microfilter in the test socket. To see if this made any difference too, I did a quick reboot of the router, got the stats and did a speedtest... and I was straight back to

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8188kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 19 db 8 db
      Noise Margin 15 db 23 db


      Speedtest.net showed 7.02 Mb/s down and 0.51 Mb/s up!

      So.. my questions are:
      1.) Am I right to assume Sky will now be carrying out DLM following my upgrade, and should I therefore leave the router switched on permanently, connected to the test socket?

      2.) Why would plugging my telephone into the test socket at the same time as the router cause my line attenuation and noise margin to change as much as when plugging the router into an extension? Could it be my telephone is faulty?

      3.) Should I buy an ADSL faceplate for my master socket and will this have any effect?

      Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Upgrade from "Everyday" to "Unlimited"

      1. yes leave router on at all times until DLM has completed
      2. could be filter or phone - try alternatives
      3. yes but a filtered faceplate and run router in the master once fitted
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      neil40's Avatar
      neil40 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aberdeen Kincorth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Aberdeen
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgrade from "Everyday" to "Unlimited"

      1/ I would'nt count on it.I had to call sky and they manually adjusted the connection after the upgrade as nothing had happened in two weeks....Neil

    5. #4
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgrade from "Everyday" to "Unlimited"

      Quote Originally Posted by neil40 View Post
      1/ I would'nt count on it.I had to call sky and they manually adjusted the connection after the upgrade as nothing had happened in two weeks....Neil
      Yeh, personally i would say call sky if you want to get things speeded up a bit quicker as the whole "DLM within 72 hours" isnt too reliable. freshman whenever you connect the faceplate back to the master socket theres quite a drop in stats, do you have all extension sockets in use filtered?

      as IWasNotTheEnemy said definately make sure you run your router through the master when you have your pre-filtered faceplate! if you do call sky do it whilst in the test socket, when tier 1 hear your in the test socket and see your line they may be able ot get the line reconfigured without opening a ticket for cst but if not you should be through to cst quick enough

    6. #5
      freshman's Avatar
      freshman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCFOM
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgrade from "Everyday" to "Unlimited"

      Wow, thanks for the speedy responses!

      @IWasNotTheEnemy - Ok, the router is staying where it is. I'll try and borrow another handset off someone this weekend to see if it's the phone at fault. Using different filters seems to give the same results.

      @misfit96 - Yeah, both of my 2 extensions are filtered, and with my phone plugged into the test socket only one of them is actually in use (Sky+).

      Will order a filtered faceplate tomorrow and give Sky a call if nothing has changed over the weekend. I've run cat5e from the bedroom to another router acting as a switch/AP next to my main PC so the router can stay permanently by the master socket. Just need to find a way of covering up the blinking LEDs so they don't keep me awake at night...

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Upgrade from "Everyday" to "Unlimited"

      with the test socket in use none of the extensions should have dial tone - if they do that'll be an issue in the long run so best check...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      freshman's Avatar
      freshman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCFOM
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgrade from "Everyday" to "Unlimited"

      Neither of the extensions have a dial tone when the master faceplate is removed. To remind me, my Sky+ box "kindly" informed me when I switched it on that it should always be connected to a phone line.

    9. #8
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Upgrade from "Everyday" to "Unlimited"

      Quote Originally Posted by freshman View Post
      Neither of the extensions have a dial tone when the master faceplate is removed. To remind me, my Sky+ box "kindly" informed me when I switched it on that it should always be connected to a phone line.
      I believe that's only the case if you're in the first twelve months of your contract. If not, then get the sucker out unless you use interactive services and such.

    10. #9
      freshman's Avatar
      freshman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCFOM
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgrade from "Everyday" to "Unlimited"

      Ok, haven't spoken to Sky yet but at various stages over the weekend I noticed my sync speed had increased, and the router stats currently show:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 11259 kbps 921 kbps
      Line Attenuation 17 db 8 db
      Noise Margin 15 db 13 db


      Looking good so far, speedtest.net shows 9.62Mb/s down and 0.77Mb/s up. Will keep an eye on it to see if it improves, which I think it should based on my line attenuation figure.

      Filtered faceplate should arrive tomorrow so I can plug my phone back in!

      get the sucker out unless you use interactive services and such.
      Will leaving it in cause me any problems? I had planned to just leave it plugged in, if only to stop being reminded every time my box does a reboot (happens once a week)...

    11. #10
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Upgrade from "Everyday" to "Unlimited"

      It shouldn't cause any issues unless the telephone cable is kaput.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION