Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    A problems

    This is a discussion on A problems within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; It is quite possible your downloads are swamping the connection with errors. The errors could be caused by noise on ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: A problems

      It is quite possible your downloads are swamping the connection with errors. The errors could be caused by noise on your line, the more downloading you do, the more the error rate increases until your connection drops.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      graeme122's Avatar
      graeme122 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ESALL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: x2 Sky+HD, Sky+
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: A problems

      Ok guys here's my router stats from the test socket

      System Up Time: 0:06:21
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 104 63 0 824 1145 0:00:33
      LAN 1534 1816 0 0 222 0:06:21
      WLAN 830 882 0 1639 978 0:05:53
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8090 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29.5 db 12.9 db
      Noise Margin 10.5 db 14.5 db

      i hope this can help me. also the @ light goes orange when i get PPP server down.

      i also done the dial 17070 and the option 2 and when it's in the test socket it's just a faint hiss but then it's just connected normally i get a crackle every 2-3 minutes
      Last edited by graeme122; 30-01-10 at 03:57 PM.

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: A problems

      It looks like you are capped, probably to try and stop the drop outs. If it continues to drop out in the test socket then your external line or router may be faulty. Try plugging a corded phone into the Test socket, dialling 1 digit and listen. Your line should be quiet, with only a very faint hiss at the most.

      If you can get hold of another router to try, that could rule the faulty router out of the equation.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      graeme122's Avatar
      graeme122 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ESALL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: x2 Sky+HD, Sky+
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: A problems

      Ok now i'm confused, i just unplugged my homeplug and went back to wireless and everything going fine. I could usually only download for about 2 mins before i get the whole PPP server down but i'v beendownloading for nearly 15 mins and have yet to be disconnected.

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: A problems

      Are you still connected to the Test socket?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      graeme122's Avatar
      graeme122 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ESALL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: x2 Sky+HD, Sky+
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: A problems

      No, i just have it connected normally

    8. #17
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: A problems

      You could have either a faulty homeplug or maybe a noisey mains socket, try using the homeplug again but run it off an extension from another mains socket and see if this helps, also try running the router homeplug from it as well just to rule the sockets out.

    9. #18
      narl's Avatar
      narl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      143
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: A problems

      Wrong post.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION