Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    Sync Question,

    This is a discussion on Sync Question, within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ah right got ya smithy, not much room for improvement on the noise margin if those stats are from the ...

    1. #11
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync Question,

      ah right got ya smithy, not much room for improvement on the noise margin if those stats are from the test socket, didnt really into account the age/quality of the line but certainly shall in future


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sync Question,

      Yes mate, rule is that as the speed goes up the NM must come down if it is sat at around the 7db mark, there is no more to get.

    4. #13
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync Question,

      if a line has a high attenuation but a high noise margin do will the noise margin drop quicker when the configured speed is increased than a line with low attenuation and high noise margin? or would the noise margin naturally be a lot lower due to the length of the line?

    5. #14
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sync Question,

      A good quality line will lower it's noise margin slower because it will not introduce noise as easily as a poor quality/old line that may be suffering from damaged sheilding or work/dirty connections.

      Many thing will affect the noise margin, even the change from day/night will do it, street lights, traffic and other cables so each case is a little individual.

    6. #15
      nicke1's Avatar
      nicke1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Albans
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync Question,

      Ok, so for my up speed I should contact Sky as there's scope for better speeds and DLM hasn't done it.

      For the download - the telephone line is new between the pole and house so should I be investigating why the noise margin is as high as it is?

      Thanks
      Nick

    7. #16
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync Question,

      the problem is that the noise margin is too low! as Smithy said, the noise margin will go down as the configured speed is increased so if your noise margin was higher then for that attenuation you should be able to get a higher speed. if your speed is increased anymore at thre moment then the noise margin will drop and the line will be unstable

    8. #17
      nicke1's Avatar
      nicke1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Albans
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync Question,

      Hi, please see my last post.

      Yes, I realise at the current noise levels I can't connect any quicker for down.

      But like I asked surely my upstream can improve significantly.

      And the telephone line is new between the pole and house so should I be investigating why the noise margin is like it is, e.g. presumably a relatively high amount of noise for the attenuation/sync combination.

    9. #18
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync Question,

      ahhh right yes sorry, you may want to investigate why the noise margin is as low as it is for that attenuation when connecting directly through the test socket, your upload speed could be reconfigured with the current stats

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION