Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19

    Upgraded from Base to Everyday but speeds exactly the same as on Base!

    This is a discussion on Upgraded from Base to Everyday but speeds exactly the same as on Base! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Yesterday I took the plunge and upgraded to Broadband Everyday from Broadband Base. When I 'checked out' online I received ...

    1. #1
      asha_bristol's Avatar
      asha_bristol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Upgraded from Base to Everyday but speeds exactly the same as on Base!

      Yesterday I took the plunge and upgraded to Broadband Everyday from Broadband Base. When I 'checked out' online I received a message saying it would take a couple of hours to complete and I should turn the router off and back on again to complete the process.

      Yesterday evening, after leaving it for 8 hours, I turned the router off and back on again, checked the connection status only to find it was exactly the same as before. Today, over 24 hours later, I again turned the router off and back on and yet again the connecton speed is excactly the same as before.

      Track my order says that my order is now complete, and the usage tool now shows that I have 10gb allowance instead of the old 2gb. However, the connection details page of MySky states "We are currently unable to display your broadband connection details." This is what info I am getting from Router Statistics:

      Connection Speed 2044 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 36 db 18 db
      Noise Margin 29 db 15 db

      Does anyone know what the problem is here? Am I just being impatient? Do I need to phone Sky and complain? Please help as although I am reasonably computer literate, my knowledge of ADSL and related topics is very limited. Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Base to Everyday but speeds exactly the same as on Base!

      DLM can take up to 72hrs to start so I'd just wait...if there's no change by the weekend then call up...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      asha_bristol's Avatar
      asha_bristol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Base to Everyday but speeds exactly the same as on Base!

      So should I periodically turn my router off and back on again to see if the speed has increased? Sky said I would need to turn it off and back on again for the speed changes to take affect but most stuff I've been reading about DLM on this site suggests that the router should not be switched off? Thanks.

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Base to Everyday but speeds exactly the same as on Base!

      DO NOT turn off the router during DLM, this can cause the process to think there is an error on the line and cap the speed.

    6. #5
      asha_bristol's Avatar
      asha_bristol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Base to Everyday but speeds exactly the same as on Base!

      I've learnt a lot today. Not to take much notice of anything Sky say for a start! So why is it they are telling customers when they 'check out' online that it will take a couple of hours to upgrade their broadband speed and that they should switch their router off and back again for changes to take affect when in reality they should be telling customers it might take several days for changes to take affect and not to turn the router off under any circumstances?

    7. #6
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Base to Everyday but speeds exactly the same as on Base!

      Quote Originally Posted by asha_bristol View Post
      I've learnt a lot today. Not to take much notice of anything Sky say for a start! So why is it they are telling customers when they 'check out' online that it will take a couple of hours to upgrade their broadband speed and that they should switch their router off and back again for changes to take affect when in reality they should be telling customers it might take several days for changes to take affect and not to turn the router off under any circumstances?
      Sales will do anything for a sale. I think they've been given a good spanking by sky to sort it out recently but around 1-2 years ago, sales literally would seem to tell customers anything to get the sale.

      As stated by the guys, do not turn off the router and if the downstream & upstream aren't increasing by this week, then give sky a call.

    8. #7
      neil40's Avatar
      neil40 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aberdeen Kincorth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Aberdeen
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Base to Everyday but speeds exactly the same as on Base!

      Nothing has changed speed wise either down or uploads since i upgraded 29th dec.I am 3km from exchange though.

    9. #8
      asha_bristol's Avatar
      asha_bristol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Base to Everyday but speeds exactly the same as on Base!

      Quote Originally Posted by neil40 View Post
      Nothing has changed speed wise either down or uploads since i upgraded 29th dec.I am 3km from exchange though.
      So have you contacted them to ask why?

    10. #9
      asha_bristol's Avatar
      asha_bristol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Base to Everyday but speeds exactly the same as on Base!

      Low and behold today I've received a letter from Sky telling me not to turn my router off for the next ten days whilst it conducts tests on the line. Sky's own estimate (via their website) of what my line will handle is between 10mb and 20mb so if it's still on 2mb by the end of next week I'll be seeking an explanation. Until then I guess I'll just have to sit tight. Is there any way I can tell if the line testing as started? The broadband section of 'my sky' just says 'your service details are currently unavailable'. I think it has said that for as long as i can remember though to be honest. The speeds still haven't budged a single kb.

    11. #10
      stevvi's Avatar
      stevvi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      148
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded from Base to Everyday but speeds exactly the same as on Base!

      If you are that bothered by the DLM process (and it is rubbish) just call Sky and ask them to configure your line manually. After a bit of to-ing and frow-ing I got them to remove any limit on my connection speed and let their target SNR of 7db sort out my max speed.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION