Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20

    ADSL Drops With an Incoming Call

    This is a discussion on ADSL Drops With an Incoming Call within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; SKY CST don't seem to want to do anything because the problem goes away when an extra filter is used ...

    1. #11
      Freedom's Avatar
      Freedom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: IPSLEY
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Redditch
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: ADSL Drops With an Incoming Call

      SKY CST don't seem to want to do anything because the problem goes away when an extra filter is used - this to them implies that it is an internal wiring fault. Have explained there are no internal wires but...

      And looking at the underground bt cable again, i would swear that it is no copper, not even tin plated copper but i will concede that point as you knew that tin plated copper was an option - I always presumed it was aluminium...


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      re: ADSL Drops With an Incoming Call

      Who do you pay your line rental to?

    4. #13
      Freedom's Avatar
      Freedom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: IPSLEY
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Redditch
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: ADSL Drops With an Incoming Call

      I pay line rental to BT... They won't do anythign though (from the October version) because there is no noise on the line (voice).

    5. #14
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: ADSL Drops With an Incoming Call

      I would ring BT and book a call, tell them that the line has an intermittant crackle that appears to be worse during any wet weather. Hopefully a line test will show a fault and they will send an engineer out.

      I had exactly the same a few years ago, turned out to be a poor connection at the pole, it was only just connected and when the voice call came in it would put extra stress on the joint and disconnect the ADSL, I think it was called a high resistance fault.

      A bit of a pain to find but when the BT engineer comes out, tell him that you have also noticed the problem with the broadband and he should put 2&2 together, if you like, tell him you have searched the web and that this sounds similar to what you have.

      DO NOT mention the BB to BT though, it will confuse matters, just have a hot coffee and biscuits ready for the engineer.

    6. #15
      Freedom's Avatar
      Freedom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: IPSLEY
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Redditch
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ADSL Drops With an Incoming Call

      If he fancies, he can have an Irish coffee if he fixes the damm thing ;p

    7. #16
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: ADSL Drops With an Incoming Call

      LOL, that's the way, keep him happy, I gave mine a bacon butty when he walked through the door, luckily, he wasn't a Muslim

    8. #17
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ADSL Drops With an Incoming Call

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      LOL, that's the way, keep him happy, I gave mine a bacon butty when he walked through the door, luckily, he wasn't a Muslim
      isn't it Jews that dont eat pigs???

    9. #18
      Freedom's Avatar
      Freedom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: IPSLEY
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Redditch
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ADSL Drops With an Incoming Call

      Both I think because our local Mosque got covered in Pig remains and the Muslims wouldn't go near it until it had been blessed and stategicaly cleaned again.

    10. #19
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ADSL Drops With an Incoming Call

      Quote Originally Posted by Freedom View Post
      SKY CST don't seem to want to do anything because the problem goes away when an extra filter is used - this to them implies that it is an internal wiring fault.
      Who ever told you that needs slapped... repeatedly!
      That is just laziness and is NOT true.

      You should only have 1 Microfilter connected FIRST to any telephone socket that is being used - That is all that is needed. If you need more then there is a problem.
      If you need to double filter the connection then clearly something isn't right coming into the house!

      Get back on to them and demand they send out a health check engineer.

    11. #20
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ADSL Drops With an Incoming Call

      oooops cant delete post? :/
      Last edited by misfit96; 14-01-10 at 07:11 PM. Reason: DIDNT READ THE POST PROPERLY

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION