Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    slow speed here my stats

    This is a discussion on slow speed here my stats within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; System Up Time 31:25:41 Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time WAN PPPoA 1148694 1492903 0 ...

    1. #1
      ervidel's Avatar
      ervidel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BT infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      slow speed here my stats

      System Up Time 31:25:41
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1148694 1492903 0 1293 11040 31:24:43
      LAN 10M/100M 1152192 898545 0 8377 983 31:25:37
      WLAN 11M/54M 349379 288221 0 2910 520 31:25:32

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 798 kbps
      Line Attenuation 56.5 db 31.9 db
      Noise Margin 5.6 db 12.7 db

      any idea if I can change things for the better?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: slow speed here my stats

      where is the router connected at the moment? did you check those stats with you adsl filter connect directly into you master socket or your test socket? are you still using the short grey adsl cable between the microfilter and the router?

    4. #3
      Kona Owner's Avatar
      Kona Owner is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: BT HomeHub4
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      456
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: slow speed here my stats

      Quote Originally Posted by ervidel View Post
      System Up Time 31:25:41
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1148694 1492903 0 1293 11040 31:24:43
      LAN 10M/100M 1152192 898545 0 8377 983 31:25:37
      WLAN 11M/54M 349379 288221 0 2910 520 31:25:32

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 798 kbps
      Line Attenuation 56.5 db 31.9 db
      Noise Margin 5.6 db 12.7 db

      any idea if I can change things for the better?
      For a 56.5db attenuation a sync of 4095 is very good indeed.

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: slow speed here my stats

      Your noise margin is a bit low which may explain some of the problems you are having if there are errors building up on the line and you are resending data to correct these.

      Try resyncing the router so see if you can get nearer the 6.9db default Sky set and also try the TEST socket.

    6. #5
      ervidel's Avatar
      ervidel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BT infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: slow speed here my stats

      thanks guys will try that. at the moment I have the router upstairs and between this one and the socket I run a high quality extension cable that is about ten meters. The router has to be behind the telly in our bed room. wife doesn't want boxes with flashing lights where the socket is. Need to test the router on the test socket but whatever it gives me I have to put the router back to where it was, behind the telly and on the long ext cable.

    7. #6
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: slow speed here my stats

      Ok, you have identified a possible problem with your setup (Extension cable). They are unreliable, Especially at higher speeds.
      Another problem is that your on a long line which is also placed on adsl2+ which could also be restricting your speed slightly.

      Would be great to see your stats in the MasterSocket or TestSocket Directly without the extension cable connected.


      Thanks.

    8. #7
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: slow speed here my stats

      Quote Originally Posted by ervidel View Post
      thanks guys will try that. at the moment I have the router upstairs and between this one and the socket I run a high quality extension cable that is about ten meters. The router has to be behind the telly in our bed room. wife doesn't want boxes with flashing lights where the socket is. Need to test the router on the test socket but whatever it gives me I have to put the router back to where it was, behind the telly and on the long ext cable.
      well, theres not much room for improvement if the router is to stay where it is but it would be very interesting to see stats from the test socket, you wont see any alteration in your download speed as it is capped but we could certainly get an idea of what speed you could get if you are able to resolve your internal wiring issues at some point

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION