Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    absolutely shocking speed

    This is a discussion on absolutely shocking speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; It has been 14 days and my house is getting 3000 kbps ... I dont know why and i tried ...

    1. #1
      usa1029's Avatar
      usa1029 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 403423
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      absolutely shocking speed

      It has been 14 days and my house is getting 3000 kbps ...
      I dont know why and i tried to change microfiler and everything what sky told me to do and i have no hope now..



      This is my speed and my result

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5295 kbps 860 kbps
      Line Attenuation 36.0 db 21.1 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 12.5 db

      i think there is something wrong with my noise margin..

      P.S- When i tried test socket we got 13MB


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: absolutely shocking speed

      P.S- When i tried test socket we got 13MB
      It could be your internal wiring then.

      Try posting your stats from the master socket.

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view-routerstats.html

      How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket

      And if confident see this.

      Sky User - How to remove the ring wire from your master socket




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      usa1029's Avatar
      usa1029 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 403423
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: absolutely shocking speed

      Well what do i have do to my internal wiring because if i connect to test socket i get 13MB which is pretty good speed.

      And also is it easy to remove ringwire? because i am a bit afraid to do that.

    5. #4
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: absolutely shocking speed

      Quote Originally Posted by usa1029 View Post
      I dont know why and i tried to change microfiler and everything what sky told me to do and i have no hope now..
      that is just typical sky lol. "maybe you should change that brand new filter for another one of those brand new filters, if that doesnt work try another and if that fails go and buy more, your bound to get a filter that works eventually!!!!"

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: absolutely shocking speed

      Quote Originally Posted by usa1029 View Post
      Well what do i have do to my internal wiring because if i connect to test socket i get 13MB which is pretty good speed.

      And also is it easy to remove ringwire? because i am a bit afraid to do that.

      To sort the issue out, it would appear on face value, you have faulty wiring, and by sorting this out will solve it.

      The ring wire is fairly simple to do and should take minutes, and may well resolve the issue immediately. How is your your setup - as in telephone sockets / where the router in plugged in.

      ie Master socket, then extension lead, or another socket elsewhere in the house with the router plugged in.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #6
      usa1029's Avatar
      usa1029 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 403423
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: absolutely shocking speed

      Well it is

      Master Socket, extension lead, ADSL BOX, Router then Computer

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: absolutely shocking speed

      Is the extension socket plugged directly into the master socket on the front or is it hard wired into the back of the master socket so to speak?

      If so you can open the socket on the extension socket and just check that you only have pins 2 and 5 wired in that. If you have more than them 2 connected, you could try removing the extra ones and this should do the same.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #8
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: absolutely shocking speed

      try removing the extension cable between your master socket and filter and check your speed!

      also make sure from the master socket you have adsl filter connected directly with your router directly on one side and your phone/tv splitter on the other side and any extension sockets that have a device connected need an filter!



      edit: if you change "Master Socket, extension lead, ADSL BOX, Router then Computer" to Master Socket, ADSL BOX, Router, long ethernet cable then Computer" you should see some big difference in the speeds!

      but also as i say, check your filter setup around the house!
      Last edited by misfit96; 10-01-10 at 10:22 PM. Reason: further input

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION