Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Results 31 to 40 of 40

    Why is speed so low argh

    This is a discussion on Why is speed so low argh within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; [QUOTE=User05;253106]Let's not confuse the matter here - the OP 's issue is sorted. am i a OP ? lol...

    1. #31
      Smcollumbell's Avatar
      Smcollumbell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01892
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why is speed so low argh

      [QUOTE=User05;253106]Let's not confuse the matter here - the OP's issue is sorted.

      am i a OP? lol


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why is speed so low argh

      it will be a different password, one he set up on the phone! if he hasnt set one up sky will need to speak to him and get one set up.

      just explain to your dad that you want to squeeze every last drop of speed out of sky and get the most of out of your service!! theres no point paying for a service that just ends up as food for a hungry, speed consuming extension cable

    4. #33
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Why is speed so low argh

      Quote Originally Posted by Smcollumbell View Post
      LOL i know what to do i just HAVE to ask dad if im aloud to do it...he old so he 1 of those ppl, im sure u know those ppl anyway, THANKYOU FOR ALL YOUR HELP ILL GET THE PASS OFF HIM. WOULD THE PASS BE THE SAME AS IT WAS to get those results? or a differnt 1?
      No, no. Different password - it'll be something your Dad usually uses for passwords that he'll only know (hopefully!).

      I don't want to confuse the whole process of ringing sky up and such, but just to give you a general heads up. They're going to ask you to change filters, plug into your master socket and also try your test socket. Not incorrect advice at all, and plugging into your master or test socket would probability even carry more probably for increase in speed, but seeing as you're on the base package then it'll be fine staying plugged into the extension socket (just keep an eye on the connection to make sure it doesn't drop out of course). Tell sky that you've tried your master and test socket and no different and you'll eventually be passed to another dept to have your line reconfigured and thus your speed will then shoot up to 2mb.

      Edit: And yes, you're the OP aka. original poster!

    5. #34
      Pifko's Avatar
      Pifko is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky anymore
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why is speed so low argh

      Hi user05, I'm lost lol. What is G.DMT and will it help a lot?

    6. #35
      Smcollumbell's Avatar
      Smcollumbell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01892
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why is speed so low argh

      LOL i will, and ill post he reply here haha, thank you guys for all your help, so i can get max broadband now and get the speed :P you don't know how long this has bothered me for really big thanks

    7. #36
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why is speed so low argh

      Quote Originally Posted by Pifko View Post
      Hi user05, I'm lost lol. What is G.DMT and will it help a lot?
      ITU G.992.1 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

      G.DMT is used on lines that are long as it will give better speeds than other line types which would be better suited to shorter lines.

      somebody can expand on that im sure if needed, not me unfortunately :/

    8. #37
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Why is speed so low argh

      Quote Originally Posted by Pifko View Post
      Hi user05, I'm lost lol. What is G.DMT and will it help a lot?
      You're best making your own thread, mate, and then we'll help you out. Pretty much, from what you've given so far, you'll need to call up sky and get them to reconfigure your line. To confirm, if you create a new thread and post your stats from your test socket then we'll be able to check whether that's the correct advice.

      How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket

      Quote Originally Posted by Smcollumbell
      LOL i will, and ill post he reply here haha, thank you guys for all your help, so i can get max broadband now and get the speed :P you don't know how long this has bothered me for really big thanks
      No worries, buddy - happy to help. (Albeit my fingers hurt from typing )

      Your speed is pretty much determined on your attenuation - yours being 51db. The higher it is, the slower speed you're going to see. The unlimited package offers up to 20mbps speeds, but that's only if your line can handle it i.e. whether you have a good enough attenuation. With your attenuation, you're only going to be able to push out around 6-7mb or thereabouts. It'd still be worth it upgrading, though, as you'll push out a lot more speed than what you do on the base package.

    9. #38
      Pifko's Avatar
      Pifko is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky anymore
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why is speed so low argh

      Yeah it was from test socket as I don't use the faceplate. Thank you, I have asked AOL to sort it out for me via e-mail.

    10. #39
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why is speed so low argh

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      With your attenuation, you're only going to be able to push out around 6-7mb or thereabouts. It'd still be worth it upgrading, though, as you'll push out a lot more speed than what you do on the base package.
      not to mention the fact that you have a 2gb a month download limit and under the new usage policy you will be auto-upgraded to the everyday package if you exceed this limit any 2 months in a 6 month period and i imagine with your new download speeds you will probably hit your usage limit =P

    11. #40
      Smcollumbell's Avatar
      Smcollumbell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01892
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why is speed so low argh

      well he said that everything is ok, i goto buy him a wireless doogle tho lol :P

      dont know when he going to phone up sky hopefully v.soon thanks guys

     

     
    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION