Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 40

    Why is speed so low argh

    This is a discussion on Why is speed so low argh within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; wrong 1 i take it? dad at work tomoz ill do it all then :P [IMG] [/IMG]...

    1. #21
      Smcollumbell's Avatar
      Smcollumbell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01892
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why is speed so low argh

      wrong 1 i take it? dad at work tomoz ill do it all then :P [IMG][/IMG]


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Why is speed so low argh

      That device you have plugged in first - the little white box. Get that out. Plug the filter directly into that socket, re-take the stats and post them up. If no better, then get it into the other telephone socket (the pic with the split through the middle of the socket) and post the stats.

    4. #23
      Smcollumbell's Avatar
      Smcollumbell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01892
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why is speed so low argh

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 384 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 51.0 db 29.3 db
      Noise Margin 24.9 db 17.0 db

      is that better?

      still this tho....

    5. #24
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Why is speed so low argh

      Much better. Ironically, I suggested a noise margin of 25 would be a hell of a lot better in my first post to you and now you have an SNR of 25. Now you just need the line reconfigured to the maximum attainable speed it can get. You'll push out the full 2mb on the base package easily.

      08442410515 is the number for sky. Go through to bb technical, go through all the questions with them and your line will eventually be reconfigured and you'll see a massive improvement from what you're getting at the moment.

    6. #25
      Smcollumbell's Avatar
      Smcollumbell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01892
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why is speed so low argh

      Well, can i phone them or does my dad have to? plus i goto go bk downstaires and make it aweful again lol, and then show my dad tomoz :P

    7. #26
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Why is speed so low argh

      Quote Originally Posted by Smcollumbell View Post
      Well, can i phone them or does my dad have to? plus i goto go bk downstaires and make it aweful again lol, and then show my dad tomoz :P
      For the love of God, DON'T change the set-up to what it was previously, man!!

      Your Dad probably has a password on the account, so if you got the password off him then you could ring up on his behalf with said password.

    8. #27
      Pifko's Avatar
      Pifko is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky anymore
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why is speed so low argh

      I would ring up BT not Sky and get a engineer to fit NTE5 sockets and sort out your wiring. Also the filters from Sky are rubbish.

    9. #28
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why is speed so low argh

      fantastic!! love to broadband problems fixed!! especially speed issues =]

      definately capped with those stats and yep, phone sky and tell them youve resolve alot of internal wiring issues and would like the line uncapped(if you dont leave your broadband setup as it is now you will get a low speed and probably a very unstable connection after the lines been reconfigured)!


      *edit* you need either to get the security password from your dad or get him to call
      Last edited by misfit96; 08-01-10 at 01:07 AM. Reason: was a bit slow posting what i types and topic had been updated

    10. #29
      Smcollumbell's Avatar
      Smcollumbell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01892
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why is speed so low argh

      LOL i know what to do i just HAVE to ask dad if im aloud to do it...he old so he 1 of those ppl, im sure u know those ppl anyway, THANKYOU FOR ALL YOUR HELP ILL GET THE PASS OFF HIM. WOULD THE PASS BE THE SAME AS IT WAS to get those results? or a differnt 1?

    11. #30
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Why is speed so low argh

      Quote Originally Posted by Pifko View Post
      This is my stats and I live about as far as you can from the bloody exchange.

      From the master socket with no extention wiring:

      DSL Line Speed
      up 431 kbps
      down 1275 kbps

      Line Attenuation
      up 35.8
      down 68.0 (yes 68!)

      SN Margin
      up 12.5
      down 10.6

      I would ring up BT not Sky and get a engineer to fit NTE5 sockets and sort out your wiring. Also the filters from Sky are rubbish.
      Let's not confuse the matter here - the OP's issue is sorted.

      Regarding your stats - assuming they're from the test socket with no extension cables, then you'll need to be taken off adsl2plus, put onto g.dmt and the line reconfigured. Job should be a good 'un.

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION