Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 57

    Misold broadband

    This is a discussion on Misold broadband within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Why is a ping less than 80 needed to work from home?? That's another thing you won't get from Sky ...

    1. #31
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Misold broadband

      Why is a ping less than 80 needed to work from home?? That's another thing you won't get from Sky - sympathy for not being able to work as it's a consumer service so work use has no bearing on trying to fix something...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Desertrat2k7's Avatar
      Desertrat2k7 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Misold broadband

      That i'm afraid is my buisness, I don't expect sympathy I expect to not be misold a product.

    4. #33
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Misold broadband

      it is your business but you can't expect Sky to bend over backwards to fix a line that being used for business when its strictly explained in the T&Cs that using Sky BB for business use is not allowed...still, hopefully you'll get sorted out
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #34
      Desertrat2k7's Avatar
      Desertrat2k7 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Misold broadband

      The main purpose of this thread is to identify and discuss the fact that I was misled the broadband and what I can do to get it sorted, I do appreciate your comments but I don't like the way this thread is turning into a debate of what I can and can't use it for.

      You claiming that I expect sympathy from sky really isn't helping considering the obvious fact that their service to me thus far has been nothing short of terrible, so let's please stay on topic.

      But like you say let's hope I get it sorted out
      Last edited by Desertrat2k7; 08-01-10 at 06:53 PM.

    6. #35
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Misold broadband

      I was just saying that although there's a lot that goes wrong at Sky a LOT of people are under the wrong impression of the services on offer and expect things to be fixed instantly (not you, necessarily, though)...I mearly pointed out the no sympathy issue purely as you mentioned work so didn't want you to expect it got things done quicker - if anything you'd be told to take a running jump if you told Sky it's for business use!!

      As for why you were on Connect and not Unlimited - might have been at POS there were no free slots and since some have come available - I don't know...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #36
      Desertrat2k7's Avatar
      Desertrat2k7 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Misold broadband

      Yeah no worries Enemy, thanks for pointing that out.

      Although they say 72 hours, being that Unlimited has been orderd this afternoon and that it's the weekend now I guess that I can expect to upgraded on monday?

      Could you give me some insight on what the process is now as in will I need to restart my router once upgraded etc etc

      Thanks

    8. #37
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Misold broadband

      Once moved to Unlimited you're sync speed should be 4096kbps down/512kbps up (or there about as ADSL2+ doesn't sync at the exact configured speed). You're then on DLM and speed should increase over the first 10 or so days. During this period, don't turn the router off as this can make it stick and speed won't increase...

      As for upgrade, as it involves BT going to the exchange and moving the physical connection from BT's to Sky's DSLAM it might be Monday until it's done...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #38
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Misold broadband

      I cannot see how it can be done in 72 hours. Changing from Connect to Mid / Max is pretty much classed as a Migration (as in to another ISP) and I would expect the time period to be 5 to 10 days. As it is BT that do this work. If you were on Base, or Mid and changed to Max, Sky would be in control and so an awful lot quicker.

      An engineer physically has to go to the exchange and change the jumpering for this to happen. Unless of course Sky have preferrential dealings with BT.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #39
      Desertrat2k7's Avatar
      Desertrat2k7 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Misold broadband

      I'm really hoping it will be done within 72 hours as the 2 advisers earlier confirmed

      Enemy, due to your work experience with Sky can you comment on this please?

      *Enemy, so this means I should leave my router switched on all the time from now as normal and I dont need to reset it at all?

    11. #40
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Misold broadband

      I hope it is for you. I just cannot see how anyone could give you a definite time. It is identical to a migration, it's the same physical work involved. Swapping you from the BT kit to Sky's.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION