Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    connecting laptop wirelessly

    This is a discussion on connecting laptop wirelessly within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, My laptop states it is connected wirelessly excellent signal and excellent speed but when I try to go onto ...

    1. #1
      sufos's Avatar
      sufos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      connecting laptop wirelessly

      Hi,
      My laptop states it is connected wirelessly excellent signal and excellent speed but when I try to go onto internet it states cannot display this webpage, anybody any ideas why?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: connecting laptop wirelessly

      What operating system is it?

      If vista: start > all programs > accessories > right click 'command prompt' and 'run as administrator' > type 'ping 192.168.0.1'

      (Tell us the packets sent, received & lost - if it is 0% loss, then type 'ping Google' and reply with the sent, received and lost once again)

      Basically the same with xp, but instead do this:

      start > run > type 'cmd' > click ok > then type both of the above and copy the results back here.

      Edit: Oh, I forgot the obvious - is the internet light on the router (the fourth light along - @ symbol) on, or what colour is it?

    4. #3
      sufos's Avatar
      sufos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: connecting laptop wirelessly

      do i have to connect with ethernet cable to do this, and yes the internet light is on green

    5. #4
      sufos's Avatar
      sufos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: connecting laptop wirelessly

      sorry got it working it says sent =4 received=0 lost =4 100% lost
      Last edited by sufos; 07-01-10 at 04:51 PM. Reason: correction

    6. #5
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: connecting laptop wirelessly

      Was that when pinging 192.168.0.1?

      I assume it's windows xp, so do the following:

      start > run > type 'ncpa.cpl' > right click on the wireless network connection > view available wireless networks > bottom right hand corner, click 'change advanced settings' > go to the 'wireless networks tab' > delete all networks in the preferred network list > click ok > right click on the wireless network connection > view available wireless networks > connect to your sky network > enter your network key all in capitals (found on the bottom of the router) and also confirm it > click connect

      That should sort it. If not, reboot your router also.

    7. #6
      sufos's Avatar
      sufos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: connecting laptop wirelessly

      still nothing, did as above and rebooted router

    8. #7
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: connecting laptop wirelessly

      Does it connect to the network at all or what exactly happens - we'll need more information. Detailed information, preferably, of everything you've done and what happens.

      Try this, also:

      Connect up an ethernet cable.
      Open a browser and type in 192.168.0.1
      Username = admin : Password = sky
      Click ok
      Top left, click settings
      Change the channel from auto to something else
      Change the SSID to something else
      Click apply at the bottom of the page
      When it applies, close browser and remove ethernet cable
      Reconnect to the network (it's the new name you made it by changing the SSID) and enter network key all in caps found under the router.

    9. #8
      sufos's Avatar
      sufos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: connecting laptop wirelessly

      hi, I can connect with an ethernet cable fine. I have picked up my wireless network from view available networks list and gone into connect, typed in network key (all in caps) and it comes up connected, excellent signal. When i try to open a webpage it says unable to display this page. I have tried several webpages incase it was just that one but still same response.
      I tried as you said before rebooting router but still the same connection. (says its connected but cant get on internet)
      I had further problems before, as computer was getting no signal at all, sky sent me a new router which is what I have connected up today but these are the problems I am now having.
      Last edited by sufos; 07-01-10 at 06:53 PM. Reason: add

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION