Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    help ip addresss conflict

    This is a discussion on help ip addresss conflict within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hello i was wondering if anybody can help,i keep getting a message on my laptop saying ip address conflict with ...

    1. #1
      pigibank's Avatar
      pigibank is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      help ip addresss conflict

      hello i was wondering if anybody can help,i keep getting a message on my laptop saying ip address conflict with another system on the network and my laptop keeps disconnecting from the internet,also when my son tries to use his laptop and xbox live at the same time they both disconnect he can only use one or the other,im on sky unlimited so i contacted them but they couldnt help me any help would be appreciated,both laptops and xbox are wireless.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: help ip addresss conflict

      Ok Basically what is happening is your devices are all collecting the same Ip addresses and then knocking eachother off.

      Easy way to fix this is to basically manually assign the Ip addresses for the computers - I don't know game consoles too well.

      What Operating System are your computers running?

    4. #3
      pigibank's Avatar
      pigibank is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: help ip addresss conflict

      Thanks for your reply, both of the computers are Vista.

    5. #4
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: help ip addresss conflict

      Oke, try the following on each

      Start > Control Panel > Network & Sharing Centre > Manage Network Connections (On the Left) > Right click on Your Wireless connection > Properties > Highlight "internet protocol Version 4" > Properties.

      Place a Dot Beside "Use the following Ip address"
      IP: 192.168.0.50
      Default Gateway: 192.168.0.1

      Click OK

      Do the same for the other computer but instead make the ip address:
      192.168.0.70

      Should help. Let us know How you get on.

    6. #5
      pigibank's Avatar
      pigibank is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: help ip addresss conflict

      i will try this and let you know thanks

    7. #6
      pigibank's Avatar
      pigibank is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: help ip addresss conflict

      hi krysis i have tried what u said and my laptop seems to be ok up till now,it hasnt come up the the message anyway,but my sons laptop and xbox still disconnecting?

    8. #7
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: help ip addresss conflict

      Quote Originally Posted by pigibank View Post
      hi krysis i have tried what u said and my laptop seems to be ok up till now,it hasnt come up the the message anyway,but my sons laptop and xbox still disconnecting?
      Are they still stating the same message?

    9. #8
      wheato14's Avatar
      wheato14 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01287
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: help ip addresss conflict

      krysis i was wondering if you could help me also. my desktop that i am running wirelessly via a tp link plug in and when i am connected to the internet i get a message saying i have an ip conflict. then if someone in the house is on one of there wireless laptops. we are both disconnected. i am running of windows 7.

      thanks

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: help ip addresss conflict

      Check that your laptops and any other devices you have are set to 'Obtain an IP address automatically' Then disconnect all your devices from the router, then connect one laptop. Go into the router settings click the Advanced tab, then the LAN IP set up. Under the Address reservation heading click Add and reserve the address shown. In future each time you connect you will be given this address. Do this with each device in your house in turn until all have reserved addresses. You will get no more conflicting IPs.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION