Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    Internet speed Problems

    This is a discussion on Internet speed Problems within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ok so here whats going on been on sky for quite awhile now ive got BB unlimited told me my ...

    1. #1
      pugwash's Avatar
      pugwash is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sedgley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Location
      Dudley
      Posts
      107
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Internet speed Problems

      Ok so here whats going on been on sky for quite awhile now ive got BB unlimited told me my max D/L would be 4.5 Mb which i got like 3 when i first started problem is my internet speeds have been slowly getting worse its now 2 Mb which i think is disgraceful since im paying for alot more the phone lines in my house are really old wounder if this may be a problem also i have two lines but only use the one for both the phone and internet any help or advise would be very helpful thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Internet speed Problems

      If you have 2 line with the same telephone number I take it you have a filter directly onto the phone socket plate for both, if not you are causing your own issue. If you have filters in position on all telephone sockets then post your stats and explain what plugs in where and we will see what is going on.
      Also, is your router plugged directly onto the main telephone socket via a filter or is it on an extension line?
      How to get your router statistics

    4. #3
      pugwash's Avatar
      pugwash is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sedgley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Location
      Dudley
      Posts
      107
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet speed Problems

      i only use the master socket do i still need to use a micro filter in the extension even if im not using it?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3069 kbps 798 kbps
      Line Attenuation 45.0 db 25.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 15.2 db

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Internet speed Problems

      only if the extension is in use do you need one. do you have a test socket? if so, you'll need to try it. see HERE for explanation...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      pugwash's Avatar
      pugwash is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sedgley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Location
      Dudley
      Posts
      107
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet speed Problems

      did everything it said on the test socket and no luck everything same as before but i noticed a red light on my router which ive never seen before

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Internet speed Problems

      we need the stats in the test socket as it might indicate if you've got internal noise holding the speed back...post 'em up
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      pugwash's Avatar
      pugwash is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sedgley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Location
      Dudley
      Posts
      107
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet speed Problems

      ohhh sorry i will go and do it il post the results asap

    9. #8
      pugwash's Avatar
      pugwash is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sedgley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Location
      Dudley
      Posts
      107
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet speed Problems

      ok here it is

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3068 kbps 798 kbps
      Line Attenuation 45.0 db 24.9 db
      Noise Margin 8.3 db 15.3 db

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Internet speed Problems

      slight improvement but nowhere how it should be so you're looking like a line issue. With the test socket exposed, do any of the other sockets you have have dial tone? If so, this will be impacting on your speeds so give it a go, if there's still no change you're likely to have line issue so will need to give Sky a call...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Internet speed Problems

      Can you confirm all you have in the test socket is a filter with the light grey sky supplied dsl cable and not using any extension cables to the router? If so, try swapping over the filter and re-posting the stats again.

      Also, keep your eye on the red light issue - if it was the fourth light along (the @ symbol), then that's a possible PSU issue.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION