Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Problem with multiple users through one router...

    This is a discussion on Problem with multiple users through one router... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys....first post here...any help gratefully appreciated. I received a new Sky router (the black Netgear one) which for the ...

    1. #1
      Bigmartpa's Avatar
      Bigmartpa is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01706
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Problem with multiple users through one router...

      Hi guys....first post here...any help gratefully appreciated.
      I received a new Sky router (the black Netgear one) which for the first two weeks has worked absolutely fine.
      However, over the last couple of days I've been having some problems. I have already spoken to Sky who are sending another new router through but I've discovered that the problem MAY not be the router.
      Ok...what initially was happenening was that the @light on the router was flashing orange at which point the connection to the internet was dropping...and it kept looping through a number of lighting routines but would not reconnect.
      There are no problems with the lines...we checked this yesterday.

      Later yesterday afternoon the lights seemed to have settled down...I'd had internet connection for my laptop for a few hours...everything seemed fine. Then my lad tried to connect his laptop to Sky and immediately the amber lights appeared again.
      We cancelled his connection...it went back to ok....tried again...amber light back on.

      After a fair amount of experimentation we've managed to ascertain that the broadband works fine when I, and one particularly other laptop are connected...but when either of two other laptops try to connect the amber lights appear again.

      I wonder therefore if there is a configuration problem rather than a modem problem and if so, whether anyone can point me in the correct direction of settings and the like.

      Thanks in advance.

      Regards

      Martin


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Problem with multiple users through one router...

      It could be the power supply to the router, it may just fail when it is connecting to more than the one device, not sure if multiple connections would draw more power but it seems likely.

    4. #3
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem with multiple users through one router...

      Are you all connecting wirelessly?
      I have 3 PCs 1 laptop 1 xbox all wired working fine here.

    5. #4
      Bigmartpa's Avatar
      Bigmartpa is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01706
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem with multiple users through one router...

      4 laptops.....
      One Xbox....
      All connecting wirelessly

      Never had a problem up until a couple of days back

    6. #5
      Bigmartpa's Avatar
      Bigmartpa is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01706
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem with multiple users through one router...

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      It could be the power supply to the router, it may just fail when it is connecting to more than the one device, not sure if multiple connections would draw more power but it seems likely.
      Don't think it is that...as it connects to more than one device....just not to CERTAIN devices

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Problem with multiple users through one router...

      .just not to CERTAIN devices
      Are they running torrents or P2P? There is a chance if they are, that the connection is immediately flooded and drops. If they are running torrents, P2P etc, try stopping these connecting at startup, see if they will run without the connection dropping.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Bigmartpa's Avatar
      Bigmartpa is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01706
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem with multiple users through one router...

      Thanks isitme....
      I am a total PC ignoramus...can you explain EXACTLY what I do here .... how I check whether torrents / p2p are running....what they exactly are....etc.
      Thank you ever so much

    9. #8
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem with multiple users through one router...

      Quote Originally Posted by Bigmartpa View Post
      Thanks isitme....
      I am a total PC ignoramus...can you explain EXACTLY what I do here .... how I check whether torrents / p2p are running....what they exactly are....etc.
      Thank you ever so much
      How about asking those using the connection if they are using torrents or other P2P applications on their machines? if they are then make then close the programs. Then try connection.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION