Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Internet 'dropping' and very slooooooow

    This is a discussion on Internet 'dropping' and very slooooooow within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there and a happy new year!! I hope someone can give me abit of assistance... my internet keeps dropping ...

    1. #1
      Kazzy7004's Avatar
      Kazzy7004 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Nottinghamshire
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Internet 'dropping' and very slooooooow

      Hi there and a happy new year!!

      I hope someone can give me abit of assistance... my internet keeps dropping and when it is 'active' its just so slow and seems to be getting slower!!

      I've had Sky as my ISP for just over a year now and the problem is getting worse! I'm not very 'techie and don't really understand much about routers etc. but can follow simple instructions

      If you can let me know what information you need (and possibly where to find it!!)??

      Thank you in advance!!

      Karen


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Internet 'dropping' and very slooooooow

      You need to post your stats from the router and a brief description of how your router is connected to the telephone line and what else is on the line too.
      How to get your router statistics

    4. #3
      uk_chris's Avatar
      uk_chris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      London
      Posts
      78
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Internet 'dropping' and very slooooooow

      Just to let you know the techies on here will ask you to post your stats mate

    5. #4
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Internet 'dropping' and very slooooooow

      Ok, check the following and reply with as detailed info as you can.

      - When the internet 'drops', do you notice the internet light (it will be the 'i' light on the v1 white netgear router or the '@' light on the phase 2 black routers) goes off?

      - A look at your stats whilst the internet is up and running would be handy. Click the following link for help on how to do that - How to get your router statistics

      - Detailed info on what you have plugged into each telephone socket you use in the house is needed. Ensure every telephone socket that you have telephony devices plugged into has a microfilter connected DIRECTLY into the socket. The filters will typically be little white boxes with two 'ports' - one will say 'phone', one will say 'modem'. Ensure that the 'dsl' cable, which is the cable that runs from the back of the router to the 'modem' end of the filter is the light grey sky supplied dsl cable. Make sure you're using no extension cables in the set-up and if you are, remove them. If you have sky tv plugged into the telephone socket then make sure the 'splitter' (it's a two way blank white box) is plugged in AFTER the microfilter or even just remove it completely if you don't use interactive/box office services.

      - If all of that is fine, is the router plugged into the master socket? If not, then plug into the master socket and monitor it if it drops out and re-post the stats.

      - Lastly (phew!), check if you have a test socket whilst you're checking the set-up (it should have the two screws in the bottom half of the faceplate and a BT or Openreach logo in the top left) as getting the broadband plugged into there will be the next step.

    6. #5
      Kazzy7004's Avatar
      Kazzy7004 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Nottinghamshire
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet 'dropping' and very slooooooow

      Ah thanks! Ok, I think this is it?

      Firmware Version V2.02.44

      ADSL Port
      MAC Address 00:1f:33:05:e5:cb
      IP Address 94.2.75.32
      Network Type PPPoA
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.255
      Gateway IP Address 89.200.128.39
      Domain Name Server 90.207.238.97
      90.207.238.99

      LAN Port
      MAC Address 00:1f:33:05:e5:ca
      IP Address 192.168.0.1
      DHCP On
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version 7.03.01.66
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 4091 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 604 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

      Wireless Port
      Name (SSID) SKY86885
      Region Europe
      Channel 10
      Wireless AP enable
      Broadcast Name enable

      I also did one of those speed tests (speedtest.net) but don't know how to post the results box (as i've seen others do, sorry!). Download speed of 2.6 and upload is 0.5.

      The router is connected to the main telephone socket via a yellow cable and a filter. There is only two other telephone sockets in the house in use (both have filters - one for Sky TV and the other phone extension).

      Is that what you need????

      Karen.

    7. #6
      Kazzy7004's Avatar
      Kazzy7004 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Nottinghamshire
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet 'dropping' and very slooooooow

      Ah thanks! Ok, I think this is it?

      Firmware Version V2.02.44

      ADSL Port
      MAC Address 00:1f:33:05:e5:cb
      IP Address 94.2.75.32
      Network Type PPPoA
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.255
      Gateway IP Address 89.200.128.39
      Domain Name Server 90.207.238.97
      90.207.238.99

      LAN Port
      MAC Address 00:1f:33:05:e5:ca
      IP Address 192.168.0.1
      DHCP On
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version 7.03.01.66
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 4091 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 604 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

      Wireless Port
      Name (SSID) SKY86885
      Region Europe
      Channel 10
      Wireless AP enable
      Broadcast Name enable

      I also did one of those speed tests (speedtest.net) but don't know how to post the results box (as i've seen others do, sorry!). Download speed of 2.6 and upload is 0.5.

      The router is connected to the main telephone socket with a filter. There is only two other telephone sockets in the house in use (both have filters - one for Sky TV and the other phone extension).

      Is that what you need????

      Karen.

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Internet 'dropping' and very slooooooow

      We need more than that, log into the router and click the "show statistics" button at the bottom, copy and paset, they should look similar to this:-

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 18339 kbps 980 kbps
      Line Attenuation 23.0 db 12.3 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 8.0 db

    9. #8
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Internet 'dropping' and very slooooooow

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 18339 kbps 980 kbps
      Line Attenuation 23.0 db 12.3 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 8.0 db
      Aren't you embarrassed to post such atrocious stats, Smithy?

      @ Karen:

      Just do double check that the filter where the sky tv is plugged in is indeed a filter and not the aforementioned splitter. Also check the dsl cable that runs to the filter from the router is the light grey sky supplied cable.

      Do you have any noise present on the landline whilst in use?

      After you get the stats posted (the ones you pasted aren't quite the ones we're looking for) then plug into the test socket (link below) and post up the stats whilst in the test socket for comparison.

      How to test your ADSL in the Master Socket

    10. #9
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Internet 'dropping' and very slooooooow

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      Aren't you embarrassed to post such atrocious stats, Smithy?
      Yes!

      I would like to see if a Billion router would get me the extra couple of mb and the line must not be 100% as I am sure I should hit 20mb with that attenuation but I have checked everything my end.

    11. #10
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Internet 'dropping' and very slooooooow

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      Yes!

      I would like to see if a Billion router would get me the extra couple of mb and the line must not be 100% as I am sure I should hit 20mb with that attenuation but I have checked everything my end.
      Connection Speed 1632 kbps 672 kbps
      Line Attenuation 55 db 31 db
      Noise Margin 9 db 8 db

      Look at those bad boys!! Building a couple thousand errors every 24 hours too - somehow doesn't kill my throughput. Accidentally adjusted past the 608 everyday upstream config. Sowwy, sky!

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION