Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Techy mbps bandwith type question...

    This is a discussion on Techy mbps bandwith type question... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ok - so on my Sagem black router - the wireless connection properties shows a connection at 54mbps - over ...

    1. #1
      mnavarra's Avatar
      mnavarra is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hengoed
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      Hengoed, Wales
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Techy mbps bandwith type question...

      Ok - so on my Sagem black router - the wireless connection properties shows a connection at 54mbps - over wireless with this router - what is best i can get and how do i get it ?

      Get a better router?
      Get homeplugs?

      Do i need to have anything on my laptop (wireless card) that is making a difference and how do i check - What will getting a homeplug or new router do in terms of seeing higher than 54mbps on connection details.

      Does router or my laptop have a limit that means i can get more so no point trying?

      I want to maximise speed of net connection (getting faceplate and using master socket etc) and maximise streaming from various things like between laptop, xbox 360 and my external hard drive.

      I have gigabit ethernet on laptop and elite xbox 360. So hoping by getting new router or homeplugs or both, i can maximise speeds across the board as best poss.

      Thanks - do i need any setting changes too? (router/laptop other items)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Techy mbps bandwith type question...

      Ok, firstly 54mbps is a lot faster that the connection you have to the internet which will be a maximum of 20mbs so assuming you are connecting at over this to the router it will not be slowing you down.

      I would always advise not using wireless if you don't have to (laptops etc) and homeplugs are a good soloution if you don't want to run in hard wires. This avoids wireless interference and a number of other device issues.

      However, to maximise your wireless speed, you should try some of the other channels available in the router, start at channel 13, this is often overlooked by others and so may not be as congested.

    4. #3
      mnavarra's Avatar
      mnavarra is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hengoed
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      Hengoed, Wales
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Techy mbps bandwith type question...

      Thanks forr info

      But i thought that by getting a higher figure on the connection status (not 54mbps) was all about speed of connection for moving files/data thus if i havea router, xbox, laptop and an external had dive - the higher the number, the quicker it would be to move stuff about

      if this is not right, what values do i need to be looking at>

      Also, can you explain why SKY and samknows state (when you input tel no and postcode) that my line can handle 4.5mb but othes on here who have seen my stats tell me i could expect after DLM to get mujch much more

      thanks

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Techy mbps bandwith type question...

      re: router, don't use wireless if you can help it - especially for gaming - as it'll lead to headaches

      re: DLM, speed etc. post your stats and we'll let you know what to expect...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      mnavarra's Avatar
      mnavarra is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hengoed
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      Hengoed, Wales
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Techy mbps bandwith type question...

      Here are my stats

      I went active at 4pm on 30/12/09 and have sagem router with sky max package

      Think i am on DLM only as new to SKY ...

      Can you explain the key numbers and if they are good or bad

      thanks

      System Up Time: 73:09:17
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 5888794 7045310 0 0 0 66:36:27
      LAN 13846 12746 0 0 0 73:09:17
      WLAN 8798852 7848019 0 0 0 73:08:50
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3072 kbps 256 kbps
      Line Attenuation 32.0 db 18.5 db
      Noise Margin 26.3 db 13.0 db

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Techy mbps bandwith type question...

      that's the start speed for Everyday/Mid, DLM will increase speed over the next week or so so don't turn the router off...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION